4 Replies Latest reply on Jan 13, 2007 9:40 PM by ovidiu.feodorov

JMS client and JBossAS/JBossMessaging in different machine

shandutta

Hi

I am new to JMS and JBoss.
      Is it possible to configure JMS client on one machine communicating with JBoss/JBossMessaging in another machine ?

Pls let me know the configuration required.
      Cheers
      Shantanu

• 1. Re: JMS client and JBossAS/JBossMessaging in different machi
          shandutta

Please re-confirm on the following for JMS client on different machine.

I have installed JBoss & standalone JBoss Messaging on the client machine.
          Started JBoss AS as "standalone-messaging".

In the JNDI properties file under "jbossmessaging\jboss-messaging-1.0.1.GA\examples\queue\etc", I updated the ProviderURL as follows:

java.naming.provider.url=jnp://<JBOSS_Server_IP>:1099

Now, I am able to communicate with the server JBoss installation, with the JMS client on another machine.

Please let me know if this is correct configuration ? Or is there any better means to do the same.
          Thanks
          Shantanu

• 2. Re: JMS client and JBossAS/JBossMessaging in different machi
            peterj

You have the right idea, the only difference in accessing JBoss Messaging on one machine versus on another is the JNDI provider URL - simply change the host name to access a different server.

If you have a standalone client application (that is, one that is not deployed to the application server), then all you really need is the jboss-messaging-client.jar file and the jndi.properties file in your client's classpath. No need to install standalone messaging on the client machine.

• 3. Re: JMS client and JBossAS/JBossMessaging in different machi

I get this to work when there is only one Ip-address on the client.

How do I specify the callback-address (as in 6.6 of doc) when running the samples (when I have two or more addresses)?