9 Replies Latest reply on Jun 29, 2006 11:20 PM by dbatcn

running Eclipse TestNG plugin on a Seam project

Hi,

I am new to Seam and TestNG but familiar already with Eclipse, JBoss, and JUnit.I've built the registration example using ant and got it working in JBoss. I also successfully ran its TestNG test using ant. I'm trying to get my first simple code working as an Eclipse project by copying the "registration" example (and just the registration example, because I want just my own project, not the entire Seam project as well). I've got the example and its test compiling fine but when I try to run the TestNG Eclipse plugin on the test, it fails right away at the first assertion:

public class RegisterTest extends SeamTest
      {

@Test
       public void testLogin() throws Exception
       {

new Script() {

@Override
       protected void updateModelValues() throws Exception
       {
       User user = (User) Component.getInstance("user", true);
       assert user!=null;

I notice in the ant output that various configuration files are read:
      [testng] INFO 22-06 17:24:27,082 (Log4JLogger.java:info:94) -reading components.xml
      [testng] INFO 22-06 17:24:27,207 (Log4JLogger.java:info:94) -reading properties from: /seam.properties
      [testng] INFO 22-06 17:24:27,207 (Log4JLogger.java:info:94) -reading properties from: /jndi.properties

so I'm guessing that I'm missing some magic configuration files in their proper places, which seems reasonable since Seam needs various configuration files to run. Unfortunately, since I'm quite new to Seam and TestNG I'm at a loss to figure out which files go where and I've already flailed around trying to figure that out. :(