8 Replies Latest reply on Nov 19, 2007 7:26 AM by damianharvey

Complex PDF generation and architecture question

bolke

Hello,

I am wondering who is using Seam's PDF generating features to generate complex PDFs? The background to this question is that the current tag support seems a little simple and not sufficient for the more complex layouts and the current architecture also seems difficult to extend.

For example I have been looking into rewriting UIHeaderFooter (and siblings) to support for example images. However iText using an event model in case of more complex pages (eg. onEndPage event). The current architecture does not allow this (afaik).

Now, I understand that this is a feature request and I even like to do some work on it (eg. small patches if I can, my coding skills are not that good), but I would like the rationale behind the architecture so I am able to continue in the same direction.

So please take no offence, I am pretty new to Seam. I like it a lot and I am looking forward to help extending it.

regards

• 1. Re: Complex PDF generation and architecture question

The itext support was designed to be the simplest possible thing that works while still being extremely easy to extend to support more itext concepts. I've been extending it according to user requests, but it's mostly been in maintenance mode for the last few releases. The next big change I will make is to try and remove the troubling redirect. The options are limited since facelets tragically doesn't support non-text output, but I think I can render the template in the background and return the PDF to the user immediately.

I'd love to improve the header/footer support as you suggest. Right now it's a real pain because what itext is doing here is really inconvenient. I you have any code, just open up a JIRA issue, and I'll work with you to get it in.

• 2. Re: Complex PDF generation and architecture question