3 Replies Latest reply on Oct 28, 2008 1:48 AM by totten

RFC: CRUD with model-driven facelets

totten

I am new to Seam and JSF, and I'm working on a project that intends to create, tweak, and maintain a number of Seam-based CRUD UI's. For this project, I've been experimenting with a model-driven technique for constructing JSF views.  The technique significantly reduces boilerplate and improves maintainablity for some normal cases, and it doesn't require much Seam/JSF knowledge, but it does have some issues. I'd like to get some third-party perspective on this technique: Does it seem good? Should I run away from it? Would other people benefit from it?

First, a little glib CW: Code generators, like seam-gen, can help developers get going quickly, and they provide many spots where developers can replace the output with hand-crafted code. Unfortunately, code generators also produce large volumes of slightly-different code, and maintaining that code can suck. In particular, how do we handle systematic changes to code? Perhaps we re-run the generator (and lose our customizations), or we perhaps we get familiar with copy/paste.

I've had spotted a few cases in my project where these limitations were apparent -- cases where I wanted to

• Implement a click-to-edit UI that applies to all inputs in handful of views.

• Add little widgets depending on a property's type or annotations (e.g. whenever we display or edit an @Email property, we should show a little mailto link)

• Hook-up converters and validators depending on a property's type or annotations. (e.g. whenever we edit a @PhoneNumber property, hook up a phoneNumberConverter)

• Change the type-information for a property.

In all of these cases, I was tempted to copy-paste like a maniac, to edit the seam-gen templates, and/or to re-run seam-gen. I settled on an approach which simplifies the seam-gen templates, removes some logic from seam-gen, and handles the logic at runtime.