4 Replies Latest reply on Nov 28, 2012 8:54 AM by darius.ski

Richfaces build question: how to build a specific version with a patch

darius.ski

Hello,

I am new to git, and tried to read some tutorials, but I was not successful in my efforts to build custom version of specific RF build (for example 4.2.3.Final).

Here is what i do according to a bit obsolete https://community.jboss.org/wiki/HowToBuildRichFaces4x:

git clone git://github.com/richfaces/build.git

cd build

git reset e00b2cab19a344257e66cd0663f760fbea05f2de

git reset --soft HEAD@{1}

git commit -m "Revert to e00b2cab19a344257e66cd0663f760fbea05f2de"

git reset --hard

git clean -f -d

so now it's at 4.2.3.Final (hopefully)

so i proceed with:

cd ..

bash build/scripts/richgit.sh -t git -b remotes/origin/release/4.2.3.Final

cd build

mvn clean install -DskipTests=true -Dcheckstyle.skip=true -P build,release

The result is 4.2.3.Final jars that match what is on web. Now is the part where I need help, I want to apply a patch to this version, so i go on to modify that file and tried the following:

1) Just building - no go, jars remain same

2) git commit -a followed by build. Still no luck, jars remain the same

What sort of git or Richfaces kung-fu I am missing? Thanks in advance for bearing with git newbie.

Darius.

• 1. Re: Richfaces build question: how to build a specific version with a patch
          ppitonak

Hi,

after you make a change in RichFaces code, you just need to run this again:

cd build

Regards,

Palo

• 2. Re: Richfaces build question: how to build a specific version with a patch
            darius.ski

Hi,

checking out / patching / building the version from the master ( 4.3.0.Snapshot at the moment) works just fine, I do:

cd build

cd ..

bash build/scripts/richgit.sh -t git

change the source file I need followed by:

I endup with properly built jars with my modifications in.