2 Replies Latest reply on May 23, 2016 12:36 PM by amostech

JBoss AS 7 JAAS (picketbox) / JAXB / JPA 2 - Thoughts, experience and improvements.

amostech

Hi, I´ve been for a long time a JBoss AS Community user, and I´ve built several applications on top of it and haven´t payed a dime for it! This is incredible.

I think it´s time for me to start contributing to the platform since I have been using the server with no cost for 4 years and intend to keep doing so.

This is amazing. Kudos to the community and red hat this is awesome.

sorry for the intro, but it was my first post here so I wanted to acknowledge the effort of the members.

I wanted to share a couple of thoughts on two points that I have struggled with and discuss whether those have been improved in latter versions.

1) JAAS - Login Module Customization and Extensions

- JBoss AS7, as far as I understand, uses picketbox as its security provider. Well, one could leverage other frameworks like spring security if wanted, but I always try to use the vanilla modules of the app server version before extending or replacing. Problem is that nowadays, web application have changed, I haven't had one single project that did not request me to customize the login module within JBoss AS7.

The most common requests I've got in the past were:

• Send j_username + j_password to j_security_check with an encoding such as Base64 so that credentials don't transit in clear text. (Fair enough, but not really a security concern, several login modules like gmail, facebook, twitter, send the credentials in clear text to their login endpoints, but it would be nice to include such feature in j_security_check)
        • Allow only one session per user simultaneously. This is really a nice feature that I always have to implement for enterprise projects. Usually it is required that we show a page with a message "There is already another session for this user and they would you like to disconnect the others and proceed?"