10 Replies Latest reply on Feb 18, 2005 7:53 PM by adrian.brock

Multiply queue consumers

magnusw

Hi.

I'm having multiply queue consumers connecting to JBossMQ. When I publish messages on the queue I want the messages to be round robin between the consumers but it seams like JBoss sends all the messages to the last connected consumer.

Do anyone know if you can change this default behavior?

I'm using JBoss 3.2.0.

Thanks

Magnus

• 1. Re: Multiply queue consumers
          blackers

I am by no means an expert on JMS, but this sounds to me as though you need to use Topics, not Queues. Queues are Point-To-Point and Topics are Point-To-MultiPoint

Mat

• 2. Re: Multiply queue consumers
            magnusw

Not reallly,

a Topic deliver the message to all consumers.

I only wan't the message to be delivered to one consumer but not the same one everytime to get an even load on the consumers.

I've used a few other JMS servers like Fiorano and OpenJMS and they use a round robin way when having multiply consumers on a queue but it seams like JBoss doesn't.

• 3. Re: Multiply queue consumers
              weiqingh

multiple queue receiver semantics is not defined by JMS. (jms spec section 4.4.9). it's up to jms provider to decide what to do. so you shouldn't count on it.

i am not sure why you need the round-robin behavior. what is the beneifit you are trying to get? if it's load balancing, maybe you can use ejb instead -- having one consumer receiving messages and invoke a clusered SLSB that will process the message.

or you can use a topic and create multiple MDBs. i am not sure if you would get a round-robin among those MDBs. you can also look into MessageConsumer to see if you can do your own distribution.