8 Replies Latest reply on Jan 23, 2009 10:56 AM by Peter Johnson

    Copy JBOSS

    randhir singh Newbie

      I have a requirement to migrate our application to a better configuration server. For this, I need to copy JBOSS from the present server to the new server. So, should the log folder under $JBOSS_HOME/server/default also be copied or will it get created on the new system as the system is used. So, my query here is whether the log folder needs to be copied or not?

      I hope, my question is clear.

      Please, help in solving the doubt.

      regards

        • 1. Re: Copy JBOSS
          Peter Johnson Master

          No, you do not need to copy the log folder, it will be rebuilt.

          Within jboss_home/server/xxx, the only directories that need to be copied are:
          * conf
          * deploy
          * lib
          * deployers (5.0-specific)
          * data (optional, need it only if the hsqldb contains information you need)

          The other directories (work, tmp, log, even data) are all rebuilt.

          • 2. Re: Copy JBOSS
            randhir singh Newbie

            hi,

            thanks, for your answer. I had this query that is there a tar command to exclude the log folder? Normally, I give the tar command as:-

            tar cvf <filename_tar> <folder_name> --exlude <folder_name>

            But, in this case, the log folder is not down on the first level but further down the levels in server/default/logs.

            I hope, my question is clear.

            Please, help in solving the doubt.

            regards

            • 3. Re: Copy JBOSS
              randhir singh Newbie

              hi,

              today, I tried to start the JBOSS server after copying. When I did startup.sh, it gave the error like 'jboss.log not found'. The contents of the startup.sh file are like:-
              --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
              cd $JBOSS_HOME/bin

              LOG_PATH=$JBOSS_HOME/server/default/log/jboss.log
              rm -rf $LOG_PATH

              nohup $JBOSS_HOME/bin/run.sh >> $LOG_PATH 2>&1 &

              unset JBOSS_HOME
              ~
              --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

              When I manually created the log folder and created the jboss.log file, then, this error did not come.

              Does, it mean that the log folder has also to be copied and the perception that log folder is not required is not correct.

              I hope, my question is clear.

              Please, help in solving the doubt.

              regards

              • 4. Re: Copy JBOSS
                Peter Johnson Master

                You should not have to create anf files or folders to sta JBoss AS. Wait a second, startup.sh? There is no such file for JBoss AS, but there is for JBoss Web. What, exactly, are you running?

                • 5. Re: Copy JBOSS
                  randhir singh Newbie

                  thanks, for your answer. But, this file startup.sh is there in $JBOSS_HOME/bin. Also, the file, run.sh, is there. Is, there any way to know whether it is JBOSS AS or JBOSS Web?

                  regards

                  • 6. Re: Copy JBOSS
                    Sachin Parnami Newbie

                    Can you please paste the command you are following to run the server?
                    There is no startup.sh in JBossAS/bin

                    what version are you using?

                    • 7. Re: Copy JBOSS
                      randhir singh Newbie

                      thanks, for your answer. The contents of run.sh are as follows:-
                      ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

                      ### ====================================================================== ###
                      ## ##
                      ## JBoss Bootstrap Script ##
                      ## ##
                      ### ====================================================================== ###


                      ### $Id: run.sh,v 1.9.2.5 2004/01/01 01:20:38 starksm Exp $ ###
                      export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$BILLING_HOME/billmodules/licensing/
                      JAVA_OPTS="$JAVA_OPTS -Xms328m -Xmx1024m -XX:PermSize=128m -XX:MaxPermSize=512m"
                      #JAVA_OPTS="$JAVA_OPTS -Xms328m -Xmx720m"
                      #JAVA_OPTS: -server -Dprogram.name=run.sh -Xms200m -Xmx900m -XX:NewSize=128m -XX:MaxNewSize=128m

                      DIRNAME=`dirname $0`
                      PROGNAME=`basename $0`
                      GREP="grep"

                      # Use the maximum available, or set MAX_FD != -1 to use that
                      MAX_FD="maximum"

                      #
                      # Helper to complain.
                      #
                      warn() {
                      echo "${PROGNAME}: $*"
                      }

                      #
                      # Helper to puke.
                      #
                      die() {
                      warn $*
                      exit 1
                      }

                      # OS specific support (must be 'true' or 'false').
                      cygwin=false;
                      darwin=false;
                      case "`uname`" in
                      CYGWIN*)
                      cygwin=true
                      ;;

                      Darwin*)
                      darwin=true
                      ;;
                      esac

                      # Read an optional running configuration file
                      if [ "x$RUN_CONF" = "x" ]; then
                      RUN_CONF="$DIRNAME/run.conf"
                      fi
                      if [ -r $RUN_CONF ]; then
                      . $RUN_CONF
                      fi

                      # For Cygwin, ensure paths are in UNIX format before anything is touched
                      if $cygwin ; then
                      [ -n "$JBOSS_HOME" ] &&
                      JBOSS_HOME=`cygpath --unix "$JBOSS_HOME"`
                      [ -n "$JAVA_HOME" ] &&
                      JAVA_HOME=`cygpath --unix "$JAVA_HOME"`
                      [ -n "$JAVAC_JAR" ] &&
                      JAVAC_JAR=`cygpath --unix "$JAVAC_JAR"`
                      fi

                      # Setup JBOSS_HOME
                      if [ "x$JBOSS_HOME" = "x" ]; then
                      # get the full path (without any relative bits)
                      JBOSS_HOME=`cd $DIRNAME/..; pwd`
                      fi
                      export JBOSS_HOME

                      # Increase the maximum file descriptors if we can
                      if [ "$cygwin" = "false" ]; then
                      MAX_FD_LIMIT=`ulimit -H -n`
                      if [ $? -eq 0 ]; then
                      if [ "$MAX_FD" = "maximum" -o "$MAX_FD" = "max" ]; then
                      # use the system max
                      MAX_FD="$MAX_FD_LIMIT"
                      fi

                      ulimit -n $MAX_FD
                      if [ $? -ne 0 ]; then
                      warn "Could not set maximum file descriptor limit: $MAX_FD"
                      fi
                      else
                      warn "Could not query system maximum file descriptor limit: $MAX_FD_LIMIT"
                      fi
                      fi

                      # Setup the JVM
                      if [ "x$JAVA" = "x" ]; then
                      if [ "x$JAVA_HOME" != "x" ]; then
                      JAVA="$JAVA_HOME/bin/java"
                      else
                      JAVA="java"
                      fi
                      fi

                      # Setup the classpath
                      runjar="$JBOSS_HOME/bin/run.jar"
                      if [ ! -f $runjar ]; then
                      die "Missing required file: $runjar"
                      fi
                      JBOSS_BOOT_CLASSPATH="$runjar"

                      # Include the JDK javac compiler for JSP pages. The default is for a Sun JDK
                      # compatible distribution which JAVA_HOME points to
                      if [ "x$JAVAC_JAR" = "x" ]; then
                      JAVAC_JAR="$JAVA_HOME/lib/tools.jar"
                      fi
                      if [ ! -f "$JAVAC_JAR" ]; then
                      # MacOSX does not have a seperate tools.jar
                      if [ "$darwin" != "true" ]; then
                      warn "Missing file: $JAVAC_JAR"
                      warn "Unexpected results may occur. Make sure JAVA_HOME points to a JDK and not a JRE."
                      fi
                      fi

                      if [ "x$JBOSS_CLASSPATH" = "x" ]; then
                      JBOSS_CLASSPATH="$JBOSS_BOOT_CLASSPATH:$JAVAC_JAR"
                      else
                      JBOSS_CLASSPATH="$JBOSS_CLASSPATH:$JBOSS_BOOT_CLASSPATH:$JAVAC_JAR"
                      fi

                      # If JAVA_OPTS is not set try check for Hotspot
                      if [ "x$JAVA_OPTS" = "x" ]; then

                      # Check for SUN(tm) JVM w/ HotSpot support
                      if [ "x$HAS_HOTSPOT" = "x" ]; then
                      HAS_HOTSPOT=`$JAVA -version 2>&1 | $GREP -i HotSpot`
                      fi

                      # Enable -server if we have Hotspot, unless we can't
                      if [ "x$HAS_HOTSPOT" != "x" ]; then
                      #!/bin/sh
                      ### ====================================================================== ###
                      ## ##
                      ## JBoss Bootstrap Script ##
                      ## ##
                      ### ====================================================================== ###


                      ### $Id: run.sh,v 1.9.2.5 2004/01/01 01:20:38 starksm Exp $ ###
                      export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$BILLING_HOME/billmodules/licensing/
                      JAVA_OPTS="$JAVA_OPTS -Xms328m -Xmx1024m -XX:PermSize=128m -XX:MaxPermSize=512m"
                      #JAVA_OPTS="$JAVA_OPTS -Xms328m -Xmx720m"
                      #JAVA_OPTS: -server -Dprogram.name=run.sh -Xms200m -Xmx900m -XX:NewSize=128m -XX:MaxNewSize=128m

                      DIRNAME=`dirname $0`
                      PROGNAME=`basename $0`
                      GREP="grep"

                      # Use the maximum available, or set MAX_FD != -1 to use that
                      MAX_FD="maximum"

                      #
                      # Helper to complain.
                      #
                      warn() {
                      echo "${PROGNAME}: $*"
                      }

                      #
                      # Helper to puke.
                      #
                      die() {
                      warn $*
                      exit 1
                      }

                      # OS specific support (must be 'true' or 'false').
                      cygwin=false;
                      darwin=false;
                      case "`uname`" in
                      CYGWIN*)
                      cygwin=true
                      ;;

                      Darwin*)
                      darwin=true
                      ;;
                      esac

                      # Read an optional running configuration file
                      if [ "x$RUN_CONF" = "x" ]; then
                      RUN_CONF="$DIRNAME/run.conf"
                      fi
                      if [ -r $RUN_CONF ]; then
                      . $RUN_CONF
                      fi

                      # For Cygwin, ensure paths are in UNIX format before anything is touched
                      if $cygwin ; then
                      [ -n "$JBOSS_HOME" ] &&
                      JBOSS_HOME=`cygpath --unix "$JBOSS_HOME"`
                      [ -n "$JAVA_HOME" ] &&
                      JAVA_HOME=`cygpath --unix "$JAVA_HOME"`
                      [ -n "$JAVAC_JAR" ] &&
                      JAVAC_JAR=`cygpath --unix "$JAVAC_JAR"`
                      fi

                      # Setup JBOSS_HOME
                      if [ "x$JBOSS_HOME" = "x" ]; then
                      # get the full path (without any relative bits)
                      JBOSS_HOME=`cd $DIRNAME/..; pwd`
                      fi
                      export JBOSS_HOME

                      # Increase the maximum file descriptors if we can
                      if [ "$cygwin" = "false" ]; then
                      MAX_FD_LIMIT=`ulimit -H -n`
                      if [ $? -eq 0 ]; then
                      if [ "$MAX_FD" = "maximum" -o "$MAX_FD" = "max" ]; then
                      # use the system max
                      MAX_FD="$MAX_FD_LIMIT"
                      fi

                      ulimit -n $MAX_FD
                      if [ $? -ne 0 ]; then
                      warn "Could not set maximum file descriptor limit: $MAX_FD"
                      fi
                      else
                      warn "Could not query system maximum file descriptor limit: $MAX_FD_LIMIT"
                      fi
                      fi

                      # Setup the JVM
                      if [ "x$JAVA" = "x" ]; then
                      if [ "x$JAVA_HOME" != "x" ]; then
                      JAVA="$JAVA_HOME/bin/java"
                      else
                      JAVA="java"
                      fi
                      fi

                      # Setup the classpath
                      runjar="$JBOSS_HOME/bin/run.jar"
                      if [ ! -f $runjar ]; then
                      die "Missing required file: $runjar"
                      fi
                      JBOSS_BOOT_CLASSPATH="$runjar"

                      # Include the JDK javac compiler for JSP pages. The default is for a Sun JDK
                      # compatible distribution which JAVA_HOME points to
                      if [ "x$JAVAC_JAR" = "x" ]; then
                      JAVAC_JAR="$JAVA_HOME/lib/tools.jar"
                      fi
                      if [ ! -f "$JAVAC_JAR" ]; then
                      # MacOSX does not have a seperate tools.jar
                      if [ "$darwin" != "true" ]; then
                      warn "Missing file: $JAVAC_JAR"
                      warn "Unexpected results may occur. Make sure JAVA_HOME points to a JDK and not a JRE."
                      fi
                      fi

                      if [ "x$JBOSS_CLASSPATH" = "x" ]; then
                      JBOSS_CLASSPATH="$JBOSS_BOOT_CLASSPATH:$JAVAC_JAR"
                      else
                      JBOSS_CLASSPATH="$JBOSS_CLASSPATH:$JBOSS_BOOT_CLASSPATH:$JAVAC_JAR"
                      fi

                      # If JAVA_OPTS is not set try check for Hotspot
                      if [ "x$JAVA_OPTS" = "x" ]; then

                      # Check for SUN(tm) JVM w/ HotSpot support
                      if [ "x$HAS_HOTSPOT" = "x" ]; then
                      HAS_HOTSPOT=`$JAVA -version 2>&1 | $GREP -i HotSpot`
                      fi

                      # Enable -server if we have Hotspot, unless we can't
                      if [ "x$HAS_HOTSPOT" != "x" ]; then
                      # MacOS does not support -server flag
                      if [ "$darwin" != "true" ]; then
                      JAVA_OPTS="-server"
                      fi
                      fi
                      fi

                      # Setup JBoss sepecific properties
                      JAVA_OPTS="$JAVA_OPTS -Dprogram.name=$PROGNAME"


                      # For Cygwin, switch paths to Windows format before running java
                      if $cygwin; then
                      JBOSS_HOME=`cygpath --path --windows "$JBOSS_HOME"`
                      JAVA_HOME=`cygpath --path --windows "$JAVA_HOME"`
                      JBOSS_CLASSPATH=`cygpath --path --windows "$JBOSS_CLASSPATH"`
                      fi

                      #JAVA_OPTS="$JAVA_OPTS -Xms400m -Xmx600m -XX:NewSize=256m -XX:MaxNewSize=512m"

                      # Display our environment
                      echo "========================================================================="
                      echo ""
                      echo " JBoss Bootstrap Environment"
                      echo ""
                      echo " JBOSS_HOME: $JBOSS_HOME"
                      echo ""
                      echo " JAVA: $JAVA"
                      echo ""
                      echo " JAVA_OPTS: $JAVA_OPTS"
                      echo ""
                      echo " CLASSPATH: $JBOSS_CLASSPATH"
                      echo ""
                      echo "========================================================================="
                      echo ""

                      STATUS=10
                      while [ $STATUS -eq 10 ]
                      do
                      # Execute the JVM
                      "$JAVA" $JAVA_OPTS \
                      -classpath "$JBOSS_CLASSPATH" \
                      org.jboss.Main "$@"
                      STATUS=$?
                      # if it doesn't work, you may want to take a look at this:
                      # http://developer.java.sun.com/developer/bugParade/bugs/4465334.html
                      done
                      --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

                      regards

                      • 8. Re: Copy JBOSS
                        Peter Johnson Master

                        If you have both startup.sh and run.sh, then I do not know what you have. I looked at the run.sh for JBoss AS 3.2.6 and it has this id line:

                        ### $Id: run.sh,v 1.9.2.7 2004/12/15 16:47:36 starksm Exp $ ###

                        Yours is even older, so I suspect that your run.sh from JBoss AS 3.2.6.

                        To further determine what you have, what directories are at the same level as the bin directory? In other words, if you are in the bin directory, what is the response from 'ls -al ..'?

                        I looked back on your earlier posts - you stated that you are move you apps to a new JBoss AS setup. So my question to you is, what did you install? What was the name of the zip tor tag.gz file that you unpacked, and where di you get it from? That should solve the question of what you are using.