5 Replies Latest reply on Dec 17, 2001 3:42 AM by steinarc

Coarse-grained Entity-beans

segerss

I am relatively new to J2EE (classic opener, but still true) and have started reading the book core J2EE Patterns.
      In this book it is suggested that it is best to define coarse-grained beans because performance decreases when you have to many beans. Because coarse-grained beans present could be quite heavy to load/store they then suggest to implement lazy loading and store optimization in these beans.
      My idea however was to define fine-grained beans and let the container to all the persistence-optimization for me. Is this a good strategy?

• 1. Re: Coarse-grained Entity-beans
          marc.fleury

coarse grained:
          pro: little network overhead, but if you are running all in vm (as in JSP accessing the EJB) then you really don't pay the price of the serialzation with JBoss so that argument is no longer valid in other words going coarse doesn't buy you anything.
          con: load store can be a bitch (too much data) you need to be careful to implement "isModified" and other optimizations in JBoss

fine:

pro: load/store granularity and speed,
          con: none given the optimization point above (in network).

Bottom line: don't believe everything you read in books, unless they come from us. Come to the training, we cover these points in great details.

• 2. Re: Coarse-grained Entity-beans
            ted_graham

> coarse grained:
            > pro: little network overhead, but if you are running
            > all in vm (as in JSP accessing the EJB) then you
            > really don't pay the price of the serialzation with
            > JBoss so that argument is no longer valid

If you are using other kinds of clients, you will have to pay the serialization price. If you have an application for a client, it won't be in the same VM as the beans.

Ted

• 3. Re: Coarse-grained Entity-beans
              drfish