0 Replies Latest reply on May 4, 2006 10:16 AM by miketee

Lock timeout during sync replication

miketee

Hi all,

I am currently evaluating JBoss Cache 1.3.0.SP1 (yes, I am new with it) for our next project. I wrote a little stress test to get a feeling for the possible throughput of the replication between two nodes on different machines. The stress test uses a configurable number of threads updating the cache (whereby the data records hardly interfere).

But since I moved the thread counter in the cache I have synchronization and locking problems. The starting threads cause a high concurrency load. Without transactions I recognized either lost updates or sometimes locking exceptions. So I introduced trancactions (DummyUserTransaction) but this strengthened the locking problem: only a few threads (1 to 4 of 20) are able to access the thread counter, all others get a org.jboss.cache.lock.TimeoutException (even if I set the LockAcquisitionTimeout to 120000 ms):

[java] org.jboss.cache.lock.TimeoutException: read lock for /global/config could not be acquired by GlobalTransacti
      on:<172.17.64.64:1413>:27 after 10000 ms. Locks: Read lock owners: {}
      [java] Write lock owner: GlobalTransaction:<172.17.64.64:1413>:26
      [java] , lock info: write owner=GlobalTransaction:<172.17.64.64:1413>:26 (activeReaders=0, activeWriter=Thread[DebitThread6,5,AccountThreads], waitingReaders=3, waitingWriters=0, waitingUpgrader=0)
      [java] at org.jboss.cache.lock.IdentityLock.acquireReadLock(IdentityLock.java:240)
      [java] at org.jboss.cache.Node.acquireReadLock(Node.java:544)
      [java] at org.jboss.cache.Node.acquire(Node.java:515)
      [java] at org.jboss.cache.interceptors.PessimisticLockInterceptor.lock(PessimisticLockInterceptor.java:202)
      [java] at org.jboss.cache.interceptors.PessimisticLockInterceptor.invoke(PessimisticLockInterceptor.java:138)
      [java] at org.jboss.cache.interceptors.Interceptor.invoke(Interceptor.java:67)