4 Replies Latest reply on Jun 19, 2008 6:03 AM by mreasy

Does it matter with the warning "Name of XA node not defined

scotthkao

Hello,
      I'm a beginner to JBossCache and JBossTS.
      I'm running 9 standalone JBossCache applications on 9 different machines, with each application on a machine. I use JBossTS as a means to maintain the data integrity. The way I got it to work together is only by:
      1. defining the attribute "TransactionManagerLookupClass" in the jboss xml so as to hook up the TM.
      2. invoking cache.getConfiguration().getRuntimeConfig().getTransactionManager().begin()
      3. invoking cache.getConfiguration().getRuntimeConfig().getTransactionManager().commit() or rollback().

Just the three above. Nothing more I've done to get it work.
      It seems to work correctly. But each time the standalone JBossCache application is launched, an annoying WARN message pops up in the log file as follows:

------------------------------------------------------
      ...[com.arjuna.ats.arjuna.coordinator.TxControl_1] - Name of XA node not defined. Using -53eefec4:11ee:477aefc2:1
      ------------------------------------------------------

I don't know why or when I should set up the XA node. Could any of you tell me what's it gotta do with my JBossCache with transaction? Could there be any potential problems without manually setting the name of the XA node?

Thanks in advance,
      Scott

• 1. Re: Does it matter with the warning
          manik

Hi

I can't say I've ever seen this before - it may well have to do with the fact that JBoss Cache is not an XA resource and hence doesn't go through the steps to register itself as an XA resource with an XA compliant TM.

This should not impact any functionality though, except XA recovery, but in a cache's case this would typically be to flush the cache.

Anyway, I have created a JIRA issue to investigate the WARN message: JBCACHE-1254