1 Reply Latest reply on Mar 9, 2006 8:50 AM by tom.elrod

Remoting for JMX MBeans

allesmallachen

Hi,
      I have a question regarding JMX MBean communication.
      In my project I need asynchronous calls and dynamic lookup among other things.
      This is so easy with JBoss Remoting (thumbs up for the developers!:-))

Now I need some of my object to be manageable via JMX. Accessing
      remote objects is easy with JMX, but the problem I have is that I have to be able to switch between RMI, HTTP and HTTPS
      for transport. JMX comes only with a RMI connector out of the box. I have found a free HTTP Adaptor
      in the MX4J project, but I think that's not the same as a HTTP Connector (I'm new to JMX, so I might be wrong)

Therefore I used the following code to make my MBeans talk over JBoss Remoting.
      It uses some classes from the Spring framework to construct a RequiredModelMBean that wraps a TransporterClient:

This example is based on the basic transporter example included in the JBoss Remoting 1.4.0 release:

The client:

public void makeClientCall() throws Exception
       {
       //added setName/getName methods to the CustomerProcessor
      // interface to edit the name via jconsole
       CustomerProcessor processor = (CustomerProcessor) TransporterClient.createTransporterClient(locatorURI, CustomerProcessor.class);

//create a RequiredModelMBean using Spring's handy InterfaceBasedMBeanInfoAssembler
       Class[] managedInterfaces = new Class[] { CustomerProcessor.class };
       InterfaceBasedMBeanInfoAssembler assembler = new InterfaceBasedMBeanInfoAssembler();
       assembler.setManagedInterfaces(managedInterfaces);

RequiredModelMBean mBean = new RequiredModelMBean();
       mBean.setModelMBeanInfo(assembler.getMBeanInfo(processor, "processor:name=clientProcessor"));
       mBean.setManagedResource(processor, "ObjectReference");

//register the MBean to the local MBean server