6 Replies Latest reply on Jul 10, 2009 6:06 PM by ron_sigal

JBoss remoting - Compatability with non JBoss J2EE Applicati

vybe3142

Can JBoss Remoting be configured to run with Non-JBoss App Servers? I ask because we're evaluating options for a java software package that could potentially sit in a client's network and be able to play nice with whatever J2EE compliant Application Server they might have deployed.

If not I might have to fall back to RMI, but was interested in the performance benefits claimed by JBoss remoting.

I'm fairly new to JBoss Remoting so thanks for bearing with my question.

Thanks

• 1. Re: JBoss remoting - Compatability with non JBoss J2EE Appli
          vybe3142

Anyone ? - Thanks

• 2. Re: JBoss remoting - Compatability with non JBoss J2EE Appli
            trustin

Yes, you can. JBoss Remoting is supposed to work even if it runs without an application server. Please refer to the user guide.

• 3. Re: JBoss remoting - Compatability with non JBoss J2EE Appli
              vybe3142

Thanks
              What I meant though was : can /how can I get jboss demoting functional within an enterprise app deployed on a non jboss app server eg glassfish?

this is because one of our requirements is that the app be deployable on any j2ee app server

• 4. Re: JBoss remoting - Compatability with non JBoss J2EE Appli
                ron_sigal

"vybe3142" wrote:

can /how can I get jboss demoting functional within an enterprise app deployed on a non jboss app server eg glassfish?

Not sure I understand the question. There are a couple of ways Remoting could live in an application server. Note that I don't know anything about glassfish (except that it's well known to be inherently evil :) ).