4 Replies Latest reply on Nov 2, 2008 6:26 AM by black83angel

Task nodes problem

black83angel

Hello,

I'm an italian developer approaching jBPM with NetBeans+GlassFish, and I'm encountering some problems in managing tasks and task nodes: I've created a process definition with a start-state, two task nodes (separated by a simple state I only use to check che flow) and a transition between the two (so I defined the tasks in the processdefinition.xml file). I was trying to get from the first task to the second by completing them, but I don't understand very well how to use the task management stuff.

I read that to obtain a task instance you have to call:

TaskInstance taskInstance = (TaskInstance) processInstance.getTaskMgmtInstance().getTaskInstances().iterator().next();

where "processInstance" is a process instance created from a process definition etc; but how must I do if I have more than one task?

• 1. Re: Task nodes problem
          salaboy21

If you know a little about Java, you should look the jBPM API and notice that

processInstance.getTaskMgmtInstance().getTaskInstances()

Give you the list (List) of all the task that you have at some moment.

Hope it helps

• 2. Re: Task nodes problem
            kukeltje

And this is only for one taskinstance. If you want it for all taskinstances, use the JbpmContext api

• 3. Re: Task nodes problem
              black83angel

"kukeltje" wrote:
              And this is only for one taskinstance. If you want it for all taskinstances, use the JbpmContext api

Can you give me an example please?

• 4. Re: Task nodes problem
                black83angel

Ok, no problem: I think I just solved the matter following a simple example I found browsing the net; the example manages different tasks by creating different task instances:

Token token = processInstance.getRootToken();

<some code that brings the process to task-node 1>