5 Replies Latest reply on Aug 23, 2005 12:59 AM by jfrosch

Using Firebird 1.5

I'm an absolute newbie to JBoss Portal, but I thought I'd like to get Portal 2.0 working with the Firebird 1.5 database and jboss-4.0.3RC2. (jboss-4.0.3RC2 seemed to be working okay without the Portal stuff, so I felt it was stable enough for configuring the Portal services.)

I was optimistic when I read that any Hibernate-supported dialect should work, but am a bit less so after several failed attempts.

To get started, I changed the hibernate.cfg.xml files in the jboss-portal.sar and portal-forums.ear directories to mandate the FirebirdDialect, I created an empty database, and deployed a portlet-firebird-ds.xml with the DB connection info. I then tested the connection outside JBoss to ensure my settings would work. (BTW, I'm using the FirebirdSQL Jaybird drivers.)

However, when I started JBoss, a lot of exceptions were thrown indicating tables were not found. I browsed the database and saw that indeed, no tables were present. I then went into the JMX Manager and used the portal and portal.forums MBean services to create the schema and content. This created the tables and cleared most of the errors.

I'm still getting an error because the JBP_ROLES table was not created. Here's the extract from server.log:

2005-08-21 22:17:47,890 DEBUG [org.hibernate.hql.ast.QueryTranslatorImpl] HQL: from org.jboss.portal.core.impl.role.RoleImpl
      2005-08-21 22:17:47,890 DEBUG [org.hibernate.hql.ast.QueryTranslatorImpl] SQL: select roleimpl0_.jbp_rid as jbp1_0_, roleimpl0_.jbp_name as jbp2_0_, roleimpl0_.jbp_displayname as jbp3_0_ from jbp_roles roleimpl0_
      2005-08-21 22:17:47,906 DEBUG [org.hibernate.hql.ast.ErrorCounter] throwQueryException() : no errors
      2005-08-21 22:17:47,906 DEBUG [org.hibernate.jdbc.AbstractBatcher] about to open PreparedStatement (open PreparedStatements: 0, globally: 0)