3 Replies Latest reply on Mar 16, 2006 6:38 PM by gavin.king

annoying

coryvirok

I'm in the process of learning + developing my Seam enabled web app and I find myself needing to redeploy all the time. Since I'm also new to JSF, I sometimes need to redeploy because of a stupid JSF bug in my .xhtml files.

Some of the time the error will occur right after a make a call to a @Begin method. When I go ahead and redeploy, I will often times get this exception:

Caused by: javax.transaction.NotSupportedException: Transaction already active, cannot nest transactions.
       at org.jboss.tm.TxManager.begin(TxManager.java:208)
       at org.jboss.tm.usertx.client.ServerVMClientUserTransaction.begin(ServerVMClientUserTransaction.java:124)
       at org.jboss.seam.jsf.SeamExtendedManagedPersistencePhaseListener.begin(SeamExtendedManagedPersistencePhaseListener.java:61)
       ... 27 more

Now I'm guessing that this is because my previous deployment still had a transaction open. Is there a way to FLUSH all of the transactions on a redeploy?

I've added the following to my faces config file to get the Seam managed transactions:

<lifecycle>
       <phase-listener>org.jboss.seam.jsf.SeamExtendedManagedPersistencePhaseListener</phase-listener>
      </lifecycle>

and this to my web.xml file for Seam to handle exceptions, (which I thought would take care of this problem)

<filter>
       <filter-name>Seam Exception Filter</filter-name>
       <filter-class>org.jboss.seam.servlet.SeamExceptionFilter</filter-class>
      </filter>
      <filter-mapping>
       <filter-name>Seam Exception Filter</filter-name>
       <url-pattern>*.xhtml</url-pattern>
      </filter-mapping>

The only way I've found to really get JBoss not to give me the transaction errors is to restart it, which is *very* painful to do for small JSF syntax errors.

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks,
      - Cory

• 1. Re: annoying
          gavin.king