4 Replies Latest reply on Jun 21, 2006 5:14 PM by dwayneb

Newbie: Dynamic form fields

sblaes

Hello all,

I'm just learning Seam, and I must say I'm impressed and it looks very promising. I do have one question though, for an app I'm building right now. I need to provide similar functionality to the configuration screens on Dell.com when you configure a new computer. What I really need to do is to store the items that need to be configured, along with all the options, in the database, so that the items that can be configured, along with their options, can be changed at runtime.

So, for instance, the configurable items might include the memory for a PC, then I need to store the options available. When found, that would cause a selection box to be rendered with the available memory configurations. Then, at runtime, we might want to add a new item to be configured of perhaps a name to be inscribed on a computer. The next time the options form renders, it would then need to render with a text box so that the user could enter this information.

So, the trick is that it seems that the seam and JSF components must be coded into the JSP page. Then, for the backing session bean, you must declare an annotation for the component in order to inject its value into the bean. Since the fields will be determined dynamically at runtime, however, I don't think that will work for me. So, my question is, what would be the most graceful way to insert these dynamic form fields?

• 1. Re: Newbie: Dynamic form fields
          gavin.king

I'm not quite sure what you're trying to say. Perhaps code would be helpful.

Does ui:repeat solve your problem?

• 2. Re: Newbie: Dynamic form fields
            sblaes

ui:repeat might do the trick, I'm going to play with that this weekend to see if I can get it to do what I need. Let me see if I can take another hack at an explanation though...