11 Replies Latest reply on Jan 9, 2008 7:41 PM by pmuir

how can I create a simple database aplication?

mussie

Hello forum,
      I'm trying to build an aplication where users can register with name, password and e-mail. I tried the examples in the seam reference in particular the registration example but that example just stores the name and password as long as the server is running. When restarting the server name and password are lost. So how can I store username and password?

I also tried seam gen chapter "2.5 Generating an application from an existing database" I followed the steps there but I don't know how to do following: "You can browse the database, edit existing
      objects, and create new objects."

I'm quite sure you'll find my questions silly but I'm totaly new to this and a little advice in the begining would help a lot.

thanks and best regards,
      Mussie

• 1. Re: how can I create a simple database aplication?
          anewton

I'm no Seam expert. In fact, I'm very new to it. But I've been quite a bit of time trying to convert the registration example to use Maven. And I'm pretty sure it uses a database.

There are two things to look for:
          1) If you downloaded JBoss AS, the registration example is probably using the built-in HSQL in-memory database. You can either reconfigure JBoss to use HSQL as a disk-based database, or point it to some other database.
          2) The persistence.xml in the registration example has "create-drop" under the hibernate.hbm2ddl.auto property. That will drop and the create your database tables every time the app comes up, I think. Another setting, such as "update" might be in order. You'll probably have to look at the Hibernate docs to find the right answer.

I hope that helps.

-andy

• 2. Re: how can I create a simple database aplication?
            mussie

Where can I configure Jboss to use HSQL as a disk based database?
            And where can I see the entries of the database?