0 Replies Latest reply on Dec 14, 2009 12:15 PM by poschd

Dynamically generated table content (without <rich:dataTable>)

poschd

Hi everyone,

I am a RichFaces newbie and still struggling with a problem that I failed to solve using <rich:paint2D> as seen in this thread and decided to open a new thread, because the problem now has nothing to do with <rich:paint2D> anymore.

So, basically what I want to do is fetch a bunch of hardware of my database (Hardware is an EntityBean) and illustrate the physical location of these hardware elements using a table. The hardware is located in one of three cabinets, which consist of four subracks and 19 plugin units, so I created a table with 3 * 19 columns and four rows - I hope you get an idea of what I try to do.

Since <rich:paint2D> is not an option anymore, I tried to dynamically generate the value for each table element. I defined a three-dimensional array in a session bean (that is, hardwareLocationArr[cabinet][subrack][plugin_unit]) with conventional getters and setters (does that actually work with arrays?) and tried to update an <h:outputText> inside each table element using <a4j:repat> and <a4j:jsFunction> outside the table.

The resulting code looks like this:

<table border="1" width="auto">
          <tr>
              <!-- cabinet 1, subrack 1 -->
              <td><h:outputText id="hwLoc111" value="#{netElementPainter.hardwareLocationArr[0][0][0]}" /></td>
              <td><h:outputText id="hwLoc112" value="#{netElementPainter.hardwareLocationArr[0][0][1]}" /></td>
              <td><h:outputText id="hwLoc113" value="#{netElementPainter.hardwareLocationArr[0][0][2]}" /></td>
              <td><h:outputText id="hwLoc114" value="#{netElementPainter.hardwareLocationArr[0][0][3]}" /></td>
              <td><h:outputText id="hwLoc115" value="#{netElementPainter.hardwareLocationArr[0][0][4]}" /></td>
              <td><h:outputText id="hwLoc116" value="#{netElementPainter.hardwareLocationArr[0][0][5]}" /></td>