3 Replies Latest reply on Dec 28, 2009 8:32 AM by heuven

Differences between JBoss web and all?

Hi,

I am pretty new to JBoss and J2EE development. Nonetheless I am trying a complicated setup - I downloaded jboss-5.0.1.GA and managed to deploy a resource adapter which accepts TCP data streams. The RA is associated with a MDB. However, I am getting this error when deploying my MDB:

DEPLOYMENTS IN ERROR:
         Deployment "vfszip:/C:/jboss-5.0.1.GA/server/web/deploy/sockets-ejb-1.1.jar/"
      is in error due to the following reason(s): java.lang.NullPointerException

1) I am unsure on what strategy to follow to debug/trace the root cause of this problem. To me it seems like not a single line of source code from my MDB is called. So there must be a problem with the ejb-jar.xml or jboss.xml file? Or the structure of my JAR file? I have log code in each method of my source code. Maybe logging is not (yet) enabled?

2) As I am quite new to J2EE development I am not 100% sure in my assumption that I can deploy a MDB as a JAR file - it is my assumption that it is not necessary to deploy a MDB as an EAR file. Pls, can some one confirm this or deny?

3) I would need a simple MDB example which I am able to deploy (preferably as a JAR file).

4) I have several configurations for JBoss on my laptop - all, default, minimal, standard and web. Currently I am using web (start with run -c web). I do assume the web configuration does support deployment of MDBs? How or where can you see the differences between all these configurations?

BR,

Rene

• 1. Differences between JBoss web and all?

Hi,

I managed to get a lot further in the meantime. The MDB is now working and can receive TCP data through port 9000 or port 5000.

I also discovered that it is not necessary to deploy a MDB in an EAR file - you can just deploy it as a JAR file. A couple of things are still bothering my mind:

Concerning the configurations for JBoss: