7 Replies Latest reply on Feb 21, 2011 7:37 AM by mircea.markus

Behavior of infinispan when node is down

henk53

I was wondering about the following use case:

Using infinispan, I have a replicated cache. At some moment a node goes down. Some time after that, there will an update to some content in the cache. A while after that the node comes back up.

Will the replicated cache evict the node that is down, and when this node comes back up, will this node automatically sync again with the other nodes?

I could not really find anything about this in the infinispan documentation.

• 1. Behavior of infinispan when node is down
          feci

Hi,

I'm not an infinispan developer - just user, but I find out about most functionality through config options:

http://docs.jboss.org/infinispan/4.2/apidocs/config.html#ce_clustering_stateRetrieval

and than some testing, as default values need to be tweaked sometimes...

• 2. Behavior of infinispan when node is down
            henk53

Thanks for the reply Tomas!

I'll take a better look at that section. We've seen that it's possible for a node to let its state depend on other nodes (let it initialize its state with the data from another node). The thing is that seems to be true for a node that is newly added to a cluster. It's still not entirely clear to me what happens if a node goes down.

I guess a good amount of testing and twiddling with the settings shall reveal a good deal of this info, but an authoritative answer would still be appreciated

• 3. Behavior of infinispan when node is down
              brenuart

When a node goes down and is restarted, it rejoins the cluster (as you say it is newly added to the cluster).

What this node contains at that moment depends on your configuration: