5 Replies Latest reply on Apr 18, 2011 12:01 PM by peterj

Deploy JBoss remoting in JBOSS appserver

sssd

I am a newbie and if this question has already been asked- Pardon me!

I looked at the JBoss remoting examples and have tried connecting a swing client with the remote server which is working.

Now I want to deploy this to JBoss Appserver - First of all - can we do that? Any examples?

We have a distributed client server application with a swing client calling RMI. We want to investigate and see if we can use JBoss as an application server. Is this possible? Answers will be greatly appreciated.

• 1. Deploy JBoss remoting in JBOSS appserver
          wdfink

I dont understand your question ATM.

What you want to do? Do you try to implement the business logic with EJB - JBoss appserver and use the Swing client as GUI?

• 2. Deploy JBoss remoting in JBOSS appserver
            sssd

Hello - Thanks for replying. Right now we have a distributed client-server application. Our server code is RMI and we have a swing client that looks up the services. We are investigating to see if we can deploy this to an application server - JBoss. Apart from this arrangement, we also have web-servvices and use Tomcat for that. If we move to an application server, it will be one-stop and our web-services can also make use of the application server. Having an application server also opens up the possibility of building a complete web application in the future and that's the direction we want to head.

The question is: Can JBoss application server start up the remoting server? How can I deploy the swing client and RMI into JBoss app server.

Thanks fo your time.

• 3. Deploy JBoss remoting in JBOSS appserver
              wdfink

You can't deploy a swing application with a JBoss server, server-applications should not have such GUI components.

A direct RMI application I've never tried and it is not what JBoss is for.