7 Replies Latest reply on Aug 19, 2011 12:30 PM by Bill Meyer

    Adding JMS queues from the CLI failing

    Bill Meyer Newbie

      I am attempting to add a JMS queue to a domain configuration on a stock AS 7.0.1 installation.  From the CLI, I am seeing the following error message:

       

      [domain@localhost:9999 subsystem] add-jms-queue --profile=default --name=TestQueue --durable=true --entries="jms/queue/TestQueue"

      No handler for add at address [

          ("profile" => "default"),

          ("subsystem" => "messaging"),

          ("jms-queue" => "TestQueue")

      ]

       

      I'm not sure what is causing this error.  Any thoughts?

       

      Thanks,

       

      Bill

        • 1. Re: Adding JMS queues from the CLI failing
          jaikiran pai Master

          It should be like:

           

           /subsystem=messaging/jms-queue=newQueue:add(entries=["jms/queue/newQueue"])
          

           

           

          EDIT: Just saw the edit in your post. Looks like you are using a "command".

          • 2. Re: Adding JMS queues from the CLI failing
            jaikiran pai Master

            Works fine for me:

             

            [domain@localhost:9999 /] add-jms-queue --name="test3" --durable=true --entries=jms/test3 --profile=default
            
            • 3. Re: Adding JMS queues from the CLI failing
              Bill Meyer Newbie

              Hmmm....  I don't seem to have any luck with your example either...

               

              [domain@localhost:9999 subsystem] /subsystem=messaging/jms-queue=newQueue:add(entries=["jms/queue/newQueue"])

              {

                  "outcome" => "failed",

                  "failure-description" => "No handler for add at address [

                  (\"subsystem\" => \"messaging\"),

                  (\"jms-queue\" => \"newQueue\")

              ]",

                  "rolled-back" => true

              }

               

              Same error message.  FWIW- I am running on AS 7.0.1 in a domain (not standalone) model.

               

              Bill

              • 4. Re: Adding JMS queues from the CLI failing
                jaikiran pai Master

                Are you sure you used the domain-preview.xml to start the domain:

                 

                ./domain.sh --domain-config=domain-preview.xml

                • 5. Re: Adding JMS queues from the CLI failing
                  Bill Meyer Newbie

                  I was not using the domain-preview.xml config as you mentioned, just doing the "./domain.sh" start.

                   

                  When I start the AS7 instance using your command, interestingly the high-level command doesn't spit out any error messages, and the low-level command spits out the same error message:

                   

                  Connected to domain controller at localhost:9999

                  [domain@localhost:9999 /] add-jms-queue --profile=default --name=TestQueue --durable=true --entries="jms/queue/TestQueue"             

                  [domain@localhost:9999 /] /subsystem=messaging/jms-queue=newQueue:add(entries=["jms/queue/newQueue"])                                 

                  {

                      "outcome" => "failed",

                      "failure-description" => "No handler for add at address [

                      (\"subsystem\" => \"messaging\"),

                      (\"jms-queue\" => \"newQueue\")

                  ]",

                      "rolled-back" => true

                  }

                  [domain@localhost:9999 /] cd subsystem=messaging

                  [domain@localhost:9999 subsystem=messaging] ls

                  [domain@localhost:9999 subsystem=messaging]

                   

                  AS7 log file shows:

                   

                  [Server:server-two] 10:19:58,587 INFO  [org.hornetq.core.server.impl.HornetQServerImpl] (MSC service thread 1-2) trying to deploy queue jms.queue.TestQueue

                  [Server:server-one] 10:19:58,587 INFO  [org.hornetq.core.server.impl.HornetQServerImpl] (MSC service thread 1-6) trying to deploy queue jms.queue.TestQueue

                  [Server:server-two] 10:19:58,597 INFO  [org.jboss.as.messaging.jms.AS7BindingRegistry] (MSC service thread 1-2) Bound messaging object to jndi name java:/"jms/queue/TestQueue"

                  [Server:server-one] 10:19:58,598 INFO  [org.jboss.as.messaging.jms.AS7BindingRegistry] (MSC service thread 1-6) Bound messaging object to jndi name java:/"jms/queue/TestQueue"

                  [Host Controller] 10:20:32,924 ERROR [org.jboss.as.controller] (pool-3-thread-2) Operation ("add") failed - address: ([

                  [Host Controller]     ("subsystem" => "messaging"),

                  [Host Controller]     ("jms-queue" => "newQueue")

                  [Host Controller] ]) - failure description: "No handler for add at address [

                  [Host Controller]     (\"subsystem\" => \"messaging\"),

                  [Host Controller]     (\"jms-queue\" => \"newQueue\")

                  [Host Controller] ]"

                  [Host Controller] 10:20:50,835 ERROR [org.jboss.as.controller] (pool-3-thread-2) Operation ("read-children-types") failed - address: ([("subsystem" => "messaging")]) - failure description: "No handler for read-children-types at address [(\"subsystem\" => \"messaging\")]"

                   

                  And then when I look in the messaging subsystem, I don't see any queues even though the command to create the jms.queue.TestQueue appears to have succeeded:

                   

                  [domain@localhost:9999 /] cd subsystem=messaging

                  [domain@localhost:9999 subsystem=messaging] ls

                  [domain@localhost:9999 subsystem=messaging]

                  • 6. Re: Adding JMS queues from the CLI failing
                    jaikiran pai Master

                    Bill Meyer wrote:

                     

                    And then when I look in the messaging subsystem, I don't see any queues even though the command to create the jms.queue.TestQueue appears to have succeeded:

                     

                    [domain@localhost:9999 /] cd subsystem=messaging

                    [domain@localhost:9999 subsystem=messaging] ls

                    [domain@localhost:9999 subsystem=messaging]

                    Try

                     

                    [domain@localhost:9999 /] /profile=default/subsystem=messaging/jms-queue=*:read-resource

                    • 7. Re: Adding JMS queues from the CLI failing
                      Bill Meyer Newbie

                      That worked.  The queue created with the high-level command shows up, but the one created with the low-level queue does not (as expected):

                       

                      [domain@localhost:9999 subsystem=messaging] /profile=default/subsystem=messaging/jms-queue=*:read-resource

                      {

                          "outcome" => "success",

                          "result" => [

                              {

                                  "address" => [

                                      ("profile" => "default"),

                                      ("subsystem" => "messaging"),

                                      ("jms-queue" => "TestQueue")

                                  ],

                                  "outcome" => "success",

                                  "result" => {

                                      "durable" => true,

                                      "entries" => ["\"jms/queue/TestQueue\""]

                                  }

                              },

                              {

                                  "address" => [

                                      ("profile" => "default"),

                                      ("subsystem" => "messaging"),

                                      ("jms-queue" => "testQueue")

                                  ],

                                  "outcome" => "success",

                                  "result" => {

                                      "durable" => false,

                                      "entries" => ["queue/test"]

                                  }

                              }

                          ]

                      }