8 Replies Latest reply on Dec 16, 2011 9:32 AM by adamkal

JBoss CRL Configuration

kpcowell

Hi all,

I am new to JBoss and am trying to find some information in the Certificate Revocation area. I have a CRL URL which allows me to download a file, that I presume I can reference in JBoss. The questions I have are as follows (please excuse my ignorance in this area if I am asking moronic questions);

1. Is there a way of configuring JBoss to use the file dynamically i.e. read continuously (or is that not how CRL's are supposed to work?)?

2. If I downloaded the file every x hours would JBoss need a restart to read the updated values?

3. Presuming the crlFile is the file which contains the CRL entries, can I just add a URL to this??

Any help much appreciated.

TIA,

Kevin

• 1. Re: JBoss CRL Configuration
          kpcowell

Is it fair to assume, judging by the silence, that this not supported? Any idea who I could contact within the JBoss area who could confirm this?

Any help much appreciated.

• 2. Re: JBoss CRL Configuration
            adamkal

I've been investigating this and found the following attribute in the Web subsystem schema:

<xs:attribute name="ca-revocation-url">

<xs:annotation>

<xs:documentation>

A file or URL to get the revocation list. (actually: crlFile is JSSE and SSLCARevocationFile in OpenSSL)

</xs:documentation>

</xs:annotation>

</xs:attribute>

This attribute is likely the attribute mislabeled as "ca-certificate-file" here:

http://docs.jboss.org/jbossweb/7.0.x/config/ssl.html

However, best I can tell, JBoss is completely ignoring this file, even after a restart.  I tried both crlFile and SSLCARevocationFile as well, but neither exist within the Web subsystem schema.  Could anyone confirm if this functionality is actually implemented?

• 3. Re: JBoss CRL Configuration
              kpcowell

Adam,

Thanks for the reply. At least it is something I can take a look at. If I manage to get it working I will reply with how I did it.