8 Replies Latest reply on Dec 12, 2011 9:05 AM by a26454545

Confused about message paging and message store

a26454545

Hi all ,I'm new to HQ and confused about message paging and message store.

In my view the broker will save the persistent messages to the store, why paging message is involved here?

Does paging message only keep references of messages in memory and messages have been persistent at first?

How could I config a message producer to send messages without broker's flow control?

Thanks a lot!

• 1. Re: Confused about message paging and message store
          gaohoward

I think you can find the answers to your questions in HornetQ's user's manual.

Howard

• 2. Re: Confused about message paging and message store
            a26454545

I have read the manual but it's no clear about this.

If persistent messages are saved to the store why paging message into files?

What's the relationship between the store and paging files?

Thanks again.

BeiJing

SuoNayi

• 3. Re: Confused about message paging and message store
              gaohoward

You can think of paging as a totally different thing from the store. The purpose of paging is to enable hornetq server to handle large amount of messages while using a limited memory.

Howard

• 4. Re: Confused about message paging and message store
                a26454545

The following is my guess and I do not know it's corrent or not,please make me clear or I have to read source code:(

Will persistent messages sent from the client be persisted into the message store at first then they will be kept in paging,like some cache or message cursor, and they also will be persisted into paging files if paging memory exceeds the limitation.

Thank you so much.

SuoNayi

• 5. Re: Confused about message paging and message store
                  gaohoward

Re: Will persistent messages sent from the client be persisted into the message store at first then they will be kept in paging,like some cache or message cursor,