7 Replies Latest reply on Jul 12, 2008 1:21 AM by admin.admin.email.tld

Call Session Bean between two Seam Projects

I am new to both Seam and JEE, so fogive me if this seems like a trivial question. If I have two projects deployed on the same JBoss server what are my options for being able to invoke and call a session bean in project A from project B? Is using a @Remote my only options are there ways to invoke the call via the @Local interface?

• 1. Re: Call Session Bean between two Seam Projects
          jasondlee

Beans annotated with @Local are not directly accessible outside the application in which it's deployed.  So an @Local in foo.ear is not accessible from bar.ear.  If you want to access it outside the ear, you will need @Remote.

• 2. Re: Call Session Bean between two Seam Projects
            admin.admin.email.tld

Please refer to EJB3 in Action, pg. 87:

A local interface is designed for clients of stateless sesssion beans collocated in the same container (JVM) instance.

In your case, if you are deploying the two apps (EARs) into the same JBoss AS instance, then there is only one JVM (assuming there is no cluster).  Use @Local.

Only use RMI to call a method on a SFSB/SLSB if you must (from one JVM to another JVM, or one JBoss instance to another JBoss instance).  There is significant overhead and a performance hit when you use remote interfaces.

• 3. Re: Call Session Bean between two Seam Projects

So since they are separate projects I assume I cannot use Seam @In annotation is this correct? To use the @Local interface how do get this? In my unit tests I have:

MyServiceLocal srv = new MyServiceImpl();

Within my Seam session bean would I do the same thing?

• 4. Re: Call Session Bean between two Seam Projects
                admin.admin.email.tld

When the EJB's are deployed as part of the EAR, they are registered in the JNDI namespace (you can check this in the jmx-console of JBoss after startup and deployment).

According to JSR220-core: