2 Replies Latest reply on Jun 30, 2009 4:09 PM by pedalshoe

Working with  rich:extendedDataTable & SEAM

Hello
      I'm newbie here , so please forgive me any stupid mistakes :)

I need to take multiple/single selection of  extendedDataTable component, the example from richfaces doesn't work in seam.
      When I try to bind the table with seam component

(I remember that Conversational components have one minor limitation: they cannot be used to hold bindings to JSF components. We generally prefer not to use this feature of JSF unless absolutely necessary- seam reference)

always get this error

javax.el.ELException: /test.xhtml @51,163 binding="#{extable.exTable}": java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: argument type mismatch

The binding component looks like this:

@Name("extable")
      @Scope(EVENT)
      public class ExTable {

private UIExtendedDataTable exTable ;

public UIExtendedDataTable getExTable() {
                return exTable;
           }

public void setExTable(UIExtendedDataTable exTable) {
                this.exTable = exTable;
           }

}

(HtmlExtendedDataTable doesn't change anything here)

So, if binding jsf components is unrecommended anyway... how should I work with data tables, when I need to work with some chosen objects, displayed on them?

Any examples, suggestions.. pleeease :)

• 1. Re: Working with  rich:extendedDataTable & SEAM
          gonorrhea

There are plenty of examples of this in the Seam examples that are provided with the distro download.  See the booking example.

Anyways, I'll explain briefly.

Typically you use rich:dataTable to loop thru entities in a List.  Many times rich:dataTable is used in conjunction with @DataModel to outject a ListDataModel instance to the view.

Here's a simple example:

foo.xhtml:

<rich:dataTable id="dataTable1" 
                     value="#{listValueEntityList}" 
                     var="listVal">

<rich:column>