3 Replies Latest reply on Jan 13, 2010 9:29 AM by ary

HowToUse seam-gen to reverse engineer multiple databases

ary

Hi There,

Apologies, if this question has already been answered in some existing topic. I tried googling but could not find any post for the working solution!!

I am a newbie to Seam and have been exploring it for use in my current project. I need to build a UI which will dynamically connect to multiple MySQL database schema's.

Is it possible to use seam-gen to reverse engineer and generate pages for more than one MySQL database schema simultaneously?

If yes, can someone tell me the exact steps to be followed/modifications required so that seam-gen (either command line or using JBoss-Tools) can setup the initial working UI using more than one databases?

Many thanks for helping me out!

• 1. Re: HowToUse seam-gen to reverse engineer multiple databases
          ary

Arvind Tiwari wrote on Jan 11, 2010 09:06:

Hi There,

Apologies, if this question has already been answered in some existing topic. I tried googling but could not find any post for the working solution!!

I am a newbie to Seam and have been exploring it for use in my current project. I need to build a UI which will dynamically connect to multiple MySQL database schema's.

Is it possible to use seam-gen to reverse engineer and generate pages for more than one MySQL database schema simultaneously?

If yes, can someone tell me the exact steps to be followed/modifications required so that seam-gen (either command line or using JBoss-Tools) can setup the initial working UI using more than one databases?

Many thanks for helping me out!

To add to my previous query, here are the steps that I am following:

1. Assuming that I want Seam to reverse engineer and generate UI for two MySQL schemas - EMP (primary) and HR.

2. Run seam-gen setup providing information about primary datasource, connection url etc.