1 Reply Latest reply on Aug 13, 2010 1:01 PM by kwutzke

Tomcat 6, Embedded JBoss, Hibernate (future Seam): slf4j LinkageError

kwutzke
      Hello,

I'm new to Hibernate and especially setting up Tomcat 6 along with JBoss Embedded and Hibernate 3.5.4 (core) plus annotations and entitymanager (both 3.4.0). I put the JBoss embedded files into tomcat/lib as described here:

http://community.jboss.org/wiki/Tomcat60x

After that, I went to get my webapp to deploy, which I managed by using Ant deploy tasks and/or Tomcat's web interface (both work). Entering http://localhost:8080/bbstats gets me to the index.jsp, which is just static html in the following WAR structure:

root
      +-- index.jsp
      +-- META-INF
      |    +-- MANIFEST.MF
      |    +-- persistence.xml
      +-- WEB-INF
            +-- classes
            |    +-- com ...
            +-- lib
            |    +-- antlr-2.7.6.jar
            |    +-- ... .jar
            |    +-- slf4j-api-1.5.8.jar
            +-- web.xml

Note, that I'm manually managing the JARs just to get a feel for the material. I will look into Ivy or Maven at some point, but currently I want full control over what goes into my app. The JARs in WEB-INF/lib are:

antlr-2.7.6.jar
      commons-collections-3.2.1.jar
      commons-lang-2.5.jar
      dom4j-1.6.1.jar
      ejb3-persistence.jar
      hibernate-annotations.jar
      hibernate-commons-annotations.jar
      hibernate-entitymanager.jar
      hibernate3.jar
      javassist-3.9.0.GA.jar
      jsf-api.jar
      jsf-facelets.jar
      jsf-impl.jar
      jta-1.1.jar
      mysql-connector-java-5.1.13-bin.jar
      slf4j-api-1.5.8.jar

When loading the servlet I get the following exception:

13.08.2010 13:21:38 org.apache.catalina.core.ApplicationContext log
      INFO: Marking servlet Basketball Stats as unavailable
      13.08.2010 13:21:38 org.apache.catalina.core.StandardContext loadOnStartup
      SCHWERWIEGEND: Servlet /bbstats threw load() exception