4 Replies Latest reply on Nov 6, 2010 9:28 PM by Paul Waldo

Duplicate websession prevents deployment

Paul Waldo Newbie

Hi all,

I'm just starting to learn seam, so forgive me if this a simple question :-)

I am using jboss-5.1.0.GA and jboss-seam-2.2.0.GA on OS-X 10.6.  I have tried to create a new starter project, but it will not deploy:

09:18:05,319 INFO  [TomcatDeployment] deploy, ctxPath=/seamtest
      09:18:05,367 INFO  [config] Initializing Mojarra (1.2_12-b01-FCS) for context '/seamtest'
      09:18:05,861 WARN  [SeamPhaseListener] There should only be one Seam phase listener per application
      09:18:07,722 INFO  [ServletContextListener] Welcome to Seam 2.2.0.GA
      09:18:10,321 ERROR [[/seamtest]] Exception sending context initialized event to listener instance of class org.jboss.seam.servlet.SeamListener
      java.lang.IllegalStateException: duplicate factory for: org.jboss.seam.web.webSession (duplicate is specified in components.xml)
           at org.jboss.seam.core.Init.checkDuplicateFactoryExpressions(Init.java:227)
           at org.jboss.seam.core.Init.checkDuplicateFactory(Init.java:220)
           at org.jboss.seam.core.Init.addFactoryValueExpression(Init.java:283)
           at org.jboss.seam.init.Initialization.installComponents(Initialization.java:1152)
           at org.jboss.seam.init.Initialization.init(Initialization.java:733)
           at org.jboss.seam.servlet.SeamListener.contextInitialized(SeamListener.java:36)
           at org.apache.catalina.core.StandardContext.listenerStart(StandardContext.java:3910)

I have scoured the forums and google, and others seem to have run across this in previous seam versions.  The consensus was that there was an extra jboss-seam.jar floating around.  I have tried removing the one instance of the jar, but that causes other obvious problems :-)