5 Replies Latest reply on Aug 3, 2012 11:28 AM by jerrinot

Use of generics in helper class methods

andyoverton

Hi,

I am new to using Byteman and have come across an issue that I can't seem to resolve and can't find any information on.

I've cut out any extra code and just put in the code i'm having difficulty with to make it easier to follow.

I have a main class as follows :

class AppMain

{

public static void main(String[] args)

{

String[] testArray = {"One", "Two", "Three"};

}

}

I then have a helper class as follows :

import org.jboss.byteman.rule.Rule;

import org.jboss.byteman.rule.helper.Helper;

public class MyHelper extends Helper

{

protected MyHelper(Rule rule)

{

super(rule);

}

public <E> void displayArray(E[] inputArray)

{          

for (E element : inputArray)

{       

System.out.printf("%s ", element);

}

System.out.println();

}

public void displayArray2(String[] strings)

{

for (String s : strings)

{

System.out.println("S = " + s);

}

}

}

Now, what I want to do is to call the displayArray method passing in the String array created in Main and have it display the contents.

My rule is as follows :

RULE MY TEST RULE

CLASS AppMain

METHOD main

HELPER MyHelper

AT EXIT

IF true

DO displayArray($testArray);

ENDRULE

If I call displayArray2 then it works fine. However, if I call displayArray which uses generics then I get the following error:

Rule.execute called for MY TEST RULE_1

Rule.ensureTypeCheckedCompiled : error type checking rule MY TEST RULE

org.jboss.byteman.rule.exception.TypeException: DollarExpression.typeCheck : invalid expected type java.lang.Object[] for bound parameter $testArray file appmain.btm line 16

at org.jboss.byteman.rule.expression.DollarExpression.typeCheck(DollarExpression.java:172)

at org.jboss.byteman.rule.expression.MethodExpression.findMethod(MethodExpression.java:245)

at org.jboss.byteman.rule.expression.MethodExpression.typeCheck(MethodExpression.java:172)