11 Replies Latest reply on Sep 17, 2012 2:30 PM by davisonri_k12

Managing conversations thru url patterns

davisonri_k12

In Seam 2 I could configure transaction boundaries via the pages.xml thru something like this

<begin-conversation join="true"/>

1. Is there something similar that I can do for SEAM3/Weld ? I want to be able to manage/start conversations when a page with a specific url pattern is accessed.

2. Also I have a single page with some ajax features within it and I dont have a long standing conversation since this is a standalone page (e.g may be a dashboard). When i make ajax requests from the page (that onlyre-renders a certain widget on the dashboard) does that ajax request result in a new conversation ? in other words is the ajax call considered to be an jsf request thus starting off another transient conversation. this is the behaviour I am seeing right now. Can someone please confirm that this should be the case?

I am a newbie to SEAM3 and CDI and so any help would be appreciated.

• 1. Re: Managing conversations thru url patterns
          lightguard

Dave seenam wrote:

In Seam 2 I could configure transaction boundaries via the pages.xml thru something like this

<begin-conversation join="true"/>

1. Is there something similar that I can do for SEAM3/Weld ? I want to be able to manage/start conversations when a page with a specific url pattern is accessed.

IIRC the ViewConfiguration stuff in Seam Faces let you do this on an enum, but we don't have anything to configure it via XML or the like.