5 Replies Latest reply on Nov 28, 2012 11:26 AM by dan.berindei

Two servernodes,hotrod and a big database

Hello,

I try to use infinispan for a distributed data storage management.

Here's the situation:

We have two server machines delivering a big big database.

My task is to "publish"  that data from both servers as a cloud service, so that a client can ask for a key and gets its data from one of that nodes.

The data in the database is already distributed, meaning that the db contains different key/value pairs.

It's my first time with infinispan.

I have a client that can connect to two servernodes by hotrod protocol.

Because the data is too big to fit into memory, I played with the CacheLoaders (File & BDB) but realized that it just takes too much time to read all data from db into memory (and its a waste of hdd space).

So I decided to make an own CacheLoader, so that I can lazy load the data (when the load(Object key) method is called)

This worked fine with one server. But when I tried to work with two servers, I realized that the client doesn't ask the second servernode, if he gets no data from the first (return null in load method).

I tried the Interceptor pattern with the same result (Tried with visitGetKeyValueCommand()).

Now please help me: I need a mechanism to make the client ask the second node as well so get valid data.

Thanks in advance

• 1. Re: Two servernodes,hotrod and a big database

Here's my configuration

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>

<infinispan

xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance"

xsi:schemaLocation="urn:infinispan:config:5.1 http://www.infinispan.org/schemas/infinispan-config-5.1.xsd"

xmlns="urn:infinispan:config:5.1">

<global>

<transport clusterName="myCloud" distributedSyncTimeout="50000"  transportClass="org.infinispan.remoting.transport.jgroups.JGroupsTransport">

<properties>

<property name="configurationFile" value="jgroups-tcp.xml"/>

</properties>

</transport>

</global>