4 Replies Latest reply on Apr 17, 2013 5:00 AM by kensvebary

    Deploying JBoss AS 7.1.1 in domain mode - Pipe error

    kensvebary Newbie

      hi!

       

      I've been using JBoss AS 5.1 for some time, and now  I decided to switch to JBoss AS 7.

      I'v been working on setting up new AS and migrating my applications to new versions of frameworks for 3-4 days now (JSF 1.2 -> 2.1, RF 3.3.3 -> RF 4).

      And it all went fine until today, when I tried to start (for now just for testing purposes) AS in domain mode.

      I browsed through the book called : JBoss AS 7 Configuration, Deployment, and Administration - F.Marchioni , just to get some clue of what I needed to do.

      When I finally changed configuration to my needs, I tried to start the server, but a set of :  java.io.IOException, The pipe has been ended error occurred.

      After that, I tried to start default domain configuration (that came with the AS), but the same error kept showing up.

       

      I really don't know what to do next.

      I'm obviously doing something wrong, but what?!

      Is this some kind of a common message?

      Is there some explanation on this problem (I couldn't find any)?

       

      Some help would be much appreciated.

      I added process and host controller logs in the attachement so you could se what's going on.

      Logs are for my configuration, but the same thing (only with different server names) happens when I try to start default domain configuration.

       

      Short summary of errors :

       

      14:44:38,025 INFO  [org.jboss.as.process.Server:UBB.status] (ProcessController-threads - 5) JBAS012017: Starting process 'Server:UBB'

      14:44:38,025 ERROR [org.jboss.as.protocol.connection] (ProcessController-threads - 4) JBAS012111: Failed to read a message: java.io.IOException: The pipe has been ended

                at java.io.FileOutputStream.writeBytes(Native Method) [rt.jar:1.7.0_15]

                at java.io.FileOutputStream.write(Unknown Source) [rt.jar:1.7.0_15]

                at java.io.BufferedOutputStream.flushBuffer(Unknown Source) [rt.jar:1.7.0_15]

                at java.io.BufferedOutputStream.write(Unknown Source) [rt.jar:1.7.0_15]

                at org.jboss.as.process.protocol.StreamUtils.copyStream(StreamUtils.java:227) [jboss-as-process-controller-7.1.1.Final.jar:7.1.1.Final]

                at org.jboss.as.process.ManagedProcess.sendStdin(ManagedProcess.java:155) [jboss-as-process-controller-7.1.1.Final.jar:7.1.1.Final]

                at org.jboss.as.process.ProcessController.sendStdin(ProcessController.java:175) [jboss-as-process-controller-7.1.1.Final.jar:7.1.1.Final]

                at org.jboss.as.process.ProcessControllerServerHandler$InitMessageHandler$ConnectedMessageHandler.handleMessage(ProcessControllerServerHandler.java:138) [jboss-as-process-controller-7.1.1.Final.jar:7.1.1.Final]

                at org.jboss.as.process.protocol.ConnectionImpl.safeHandleMessage(ConnectionImpl.java:269) [jboss-as-process-controller-7.1.1.Final.jar:7.1.1.Final]

                at org.jboss.as.process.protocol.ConnectionImpl$1$1.run(ConnectionImpl.java:223) [jboss-as-process-controller-7.1.1.Final.jar:7.1.1.Final]

                at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor.runWorker(Unknown Source) [rt.jar:1.7.0_15]

                at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor$Worker.run(Unknown Source) [rt.jar:1.7.0_15]

                at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source) [rt.jar:1.7.0_15]

                at org.jboss.threads.JBossThread.run(JBossThread.java:122) [jboss-threads-2.0.0.GA.jar:2.0.0.GA]

       

       

      14:44:38,049 INFO  [org.jboss.as.process.Server:UBB.status] (reaper for Server:UBB) JBAS012010: Process 'Server:UBB' finished with an exit status of 4

      14:44:38,049 ERROR [org.jboss.as.process.Server:UBB.status] (ProcessController-threads - 5) JBAS012006: Failed to send data bytes to process 'Server:UBB' input stream: java.io.IOException: The pipe has been ended

                at java.io.FileOutputStream.writeBytes(Native Method) [rt.jar:1.7.0_15]

                at java.io.FileOutputStream.write(Unknown Source) [rt.jar:1.7.0_15]

                at java.io.BufferedOutputStream.flushBuffer(Unknown Source) [rt.jar:1.7.0_15]

                at java.io.BufferedOutputStream.write(Unknown Source) [rt.jar:1.7.0_15]

                at org.jboss.as.process.protocol.StreamUtils.copyStream(StreamUtils.java:227) [jboss-as-process-controller-7.1.1.Final.jar:7.1.1.Final]

                at org.jboss.as.process.ManagedProcess.sendStdin(ManagedProcess.java:155) [jboss-as-process-controller-7.1.1.Final.jar:7.1.1.Final]

                at org.jboss.as.process.ProcessController.sendStdin(ProcessController.java:175) [jboss-as-process-controller-7.1.1.Final.jar:7.1.1.Final]

                at org.jboss.as.process.ProcessControllerServerHandler$InitMessageHandler$ConnectedMessageHandler.handleMessage(ProcessControllerServerHandler.java:138) [jboss-as-process-controller-7.1.1.Final.jar:7.1.1.Final]

                at org.jboss.as.process.protocol.ConnectionImpl.safeHandleMessage(ConnectionImpl.java:269) [jboss-as-process-controller-7.1.1.Final.jar:7.1.1.Final]

                at org.jboss.as.process.protocol.ConnectionImpl$1$1.run(ConnectionImpl.java:223) [jboss-as-process-controller-7.1.1.Final.jar:7.1.1.Final]

                at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor.runWorker(Unknown Source) [rt.jar:1.7.0_15]

                at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor$Worker.run(Unknown Source) [rt.jar:1.7.0_15]

                at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source) [rt.jar:1.7.0_15]

                at org.jboss.threads.JBossThread.run(JBossThread.java:122) [jboss-threads-2.0.0.GA.jar:2.0.0.GA]

        • 1. Re: Deploying JBoss AS 7.1.1 in domain mode - Pipe error
          kensvebary Newbie

          Since no one will answer my question, I will answer it myself.

           

          The problem was in the fact that (for some unknown reason) the computer I was working on didn't have set

          Environment variables JAVA_HOME and PATH.

          And because of that, the problem occurred. Once I added the necessery values, everything worked.

          Hope this helps someone!

          • 2. Re: Deploying JBoss AS 7.1.1 in domain mode - Pipe error
            Marcelo Sales Newbie

            Hi Hrvoje. I'm facing the same problem. I put the domain controller in a linux centos machine and there the server works fine. But my slave is a windows 7 machine. So when I try to startup the servers this erros arrises. How do you resolve this issue? My windows aways have the JAVA_HOME and PATH configured in environment variables. May I set this inside my jboss configurations?

            • 3. Re: Deploying JBoss AS 7.1.1 in domain mode - Pipe error
              Marcelo Sales Newbie

              It's seems like there exists two variable with the name PATH in my windows machine, one for user level and another for system level. Delete the PATH variable from user level and the problem is gone.

              • 4. Re: Deploying JBoss AS 7.1.1 in domain mode - Pipe error
                kensvebary Newbie

                Sorry I didn't answer you Marcelo.

                I wasn't on the forum for the past few weeks.

                 

                The problem is definitely in the JAVA_HOME and PATH variables.

                They have to be set properly, and JBoss has to be able to see them.

                 

                And one important peace of advice!

                For standalone mode, standard Java is enough.

                But, for domain mode, your JAVA_HOME needs to be set to JDK directory, otherwise the server won't start.

                Trust me, I've experienced this problem.

                 

                You can check the directory when you start your JBoss.

                In the first few lines on the console, your server will tell jou if he has found Java directory, and what is the location to that directory.

                Right there you can see which directory JBoss is looking at.

                 

                If it is not JDK directory, JBoss won't start properly in domain mode.

                 

                Hope this helps someone.

                1 of 1 people found this helpful