3 Replies Latest reply on Jun 3, 2003 8:23 AM by jonmartin

Using default datasource in standardjbosscmp-jdbc.xml

jbrosenberg

I'm just getting started with using jBoss 3.2.1...

I read about the standardjbosscmp-jdbc.xml file
      in the /jboss-home/server/default/conf directory....

I expected settings there to be inherited by the
      ejb's I deploy, etc....

So, I set in the defaults section in
      standardjboss-cmp.xml to have my
      OracleDS as the default:

java:/OraclePool
      <datasource-mapping>Oracle8</datasource-mapping>

And, I deployed the oracle-ds.xml datasource, which looks like this:

<local-tx-datasource>
      <jndi-name>OracleDS</jndi-name>
      <connection-url>jdbc:oracle:thin:@.....</connection-url>
      <driver-class>oracle.jdbc.driver.OracleDriver</driver-class>
      <user-name>.....</user-name>
      <exception-sorter-class-name>org.jboss.resource.adapter.jdbc.vendor.OracleExceptionSorter</exception-sorter-class-name>
      </local-tx-datasource>

I also removed the Hypersonic DefaultDS from the deploy dir....

Then I created a simple EJB, and I left the defaults section empty in the jbosscmp-jdbc.xml for the ejb, hoping that it would just use the default OracleDS defined in standardjbosscmp-jdbc.xml....

But it failed to deploy, complaining that it couldn't find DefaultDS.....

I tried putting the Hypersonic - DefaultDS back, and then the ejb deployed fine, using Hypersonic and not Oracle....

Is there something I am not understanding about the behavior of the standardjbosscmp-jdbc.xml file?

Thanks,

Jason

• 1. Re: Using default datasource in standardjbosscmp-jdbc.xml
          jbrosenberg

Sorry, there's a typo....
          I did define the default
          ds to be:

java:/OracleDS

(Not OraclePool as I typed there)....

Jason

• 2. Re: Using default datasource in standardjbosscmp-jdbc.xml
            jonmartin