11 Replies Latest reply on Jul 8, 2013 9:15 AM by pmuir

A basic query on CDI Extension

job75

Hi

I'm new to CDI/Weld. I'm trying to use CDI to ingrate legacy application services with new set of services. Things that I did so far

Created custom Qualifiers and a producer method and used the same to inject legacy Java services to new Java class

Now client uses the following annaotation

@Inject  @MyService

SomeService someSvc;

My custom Producer method creates an instance of SomeServiceImpl class.

public @Produces  @MyService  SomeServiceI createSomeService(InjectionPoint injectionPoint){...}

The SomeServiceImpl class generated by the producer in turn contain some set of  CDI annoatations. e.g

public class SomeServiceImpl implements SomeServiceI  {

@Inject  @TestSvc

TestI test;

}

Question is, how do I make the  SomeServiceImpl (generated by my producer method) also to go through the same CDI life cycle so that it gets intitilaized properly with right set of dependency injections. Any example  will help. Thanks a lot

• 1. Re: A basic query on CDI Extension
          rhanus

not sure if I understood well but I guess you need to use right scope(s)

for instance you may define the producer along with a session scope annotation to ensure that in a http session you always use the same instance:

public @Produces @SessionScoped @MyService SomeServiceI createSomeService(InjectionPoint injectionPoint){...}

• 2. Re: A basic query on CDI Extension
            job75

thanks Radim for the answer.  The above stuff works. But the issue is(or my question was), if I use producer method for creating SomeServiceImpl(impl returned by my producer method 'createSomeService'), the depency injections specifed within  SomeServiceImpl class is not getting evaluated, they get evaluated if I dont have any producer emthod. For e.g

TestI test; is not getting injected in the below code.

public class SomeServiceImpl implements SomeServiceI  {

@Inject  @TestSvc

TestI test;

}