dev2gosoft

I am new to CMP .

Env:
      JBoss 3.2.5
      JDK 1.4.2
      MSSqlServer 2000
      Pentium 4 2.4 Ghz Hyperthreading
      500 MB RAM

I have two EntityBeans OrderBean and LineItem Bean.

there are 23 order entities in the order table and about 6600 entities in the LineItem table. Both the tables are linked by a OrderID (Foreign key in LineItem table)

The Entity Beans are related by the primarykey OrderID .

When I am attempting to display a report with all the orders and their associated lineitems (6600) by using the cmr field in the order bean..The transaction times out after 5 minutes after generating about 5000 records...

More Details: findAllOrders retrieves a collection of local component interface Order and for each Order I call getLineItems (CMR field)

This is way too slow than i anticipated. Obviously the CMP tries to call ejbLoad for each bean and hence very slow.

The session facade api : that does all this has a transaction attribute of "required".

Obviously using a ejbSelect or ejbHome method would be more efficient
      as we can altogether avoid linking the data with EntityBeans.

I would appreciate if someone can show how to optimize the CMP engine settings so that this can be done faster....I am using the default settings and i haven;t tried anything to fine tune the settings of CMP engine

Any help is appreciated.

• 1. Re: Throughput of data low while using CMP/CMR entitybeans
          triathlon98

Is your report generated inside a transaction?
          It should be, otherwise there is no caching (actually worse, there probably is caching, but it is discarded all the time).

Joachim

P.S. Damned, I seem to be sounding like a broken record, telling the same story over and over...

• 2. Re: Throughput of data low while using CMP/CMR entitybeans
            dev2gosoft

Joachim,
            Yes. All of this happens in a Session Facade api with a tx attribute of required.