7 Replies Latest reply on Aug 8, 2014 3:32 PM by lselecky

Questions about creating VDBs procedurally (i.e, outside of the Teiid designer).

lselecky

Hi,

I'm new to JBoss DV but I've explored the Groovy-based admin shell and looked through Chapter 9 in Red_Hat_JBoss_Data_Virtualization-6-Development_Guide_Reference_Material-en-US.pdf which is on VDB definition.

The existing Groovy-based admin functions provide a way to deploy a VDB but not to construct one, is that correct?

So I'm assuming that procedurally generating a VDB means either 1) writing Java that uses JAXB or another XML manipulation package to emit a VDB, or 2) writing a Groovy function to do the same. Can you please verify?

Thanks and best regards,

Les

• 1. Re: Questions about creating VDBs procedurally (i.e, outside of the Teiid designer).
          rareddy

Les,

Yes, to all your questions.

As far the VDB is concerned (in the Dynamic VDB case) it is a simple XML file, how you create it is up to you. If you are using Java we provide the necessary classes to make the job little bit  easier. Even Groovy shell you can use java libraries if you want to build a vdb. If you need a tool based building then Teiid Designer is the option.

Ramesh..

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Questions about creating VDBs procedurally (i.e, outside of the Teiid designer).
            lselecky

Thanks Ramesh, I downloaded the JavaDocs and am looking at the classes. Are there any Java examples for the procedural access?

Thanks again,

Les

• 3. Re: Questions about creating VDBs procedurally (i.e, outside of the Teiid designer).
              rareddy

See org.teiid.adminapi.impl.TestVDBMetaData for an example

1 of 1 people found this helpful
              • 4. Re: Questions about creating VDBs procedurally (i.e, outside of the Teiid designer).
                lselecky