4 Replies Latest reply on Jan 25, 2015 12:25 PM by rafachies

Error caused by 'Circular dependency installing ...' when upgrade from JBoss 5.1 to JBoss EAP 6.1

yi1zhao

Hi everyone,

I'm a JBoss newbie and have run into an issue I can't figure out.

I'm deploying a EAR (a.ear) with a WAR inside (b.war).  The error I get during deployment is the following and is related to b.war:

00:29:09,981 ERROR [org.jboss.msc.service.fail] (MSC service thread 1-15) MSC000001: Failed to start service jboss.deployment.subunit."a.ear"."b.war".INSTALL: org.jboss.msc.service.StartException in service jboss.deployment.subunit."a.ear"."b.war".INSTALL: JBAS018733: Failed to process phase INSTALL of subdeployment "b.war" of deployment "a.ear"

at org.jboss.as.server.deployment.DeploymentUnitPhaseService.start(DeploymentUnitPhaseService.java:127) [jboss-as-server-7.2.0.Final-redhat-8.jar:7.2.0.Final-redhat-8]

at org.jboss.msc.service.ServiceControllerImpl$StartTask.startService(ServiceControllerImpl.java:1811) [jboss-msc-1.0.4.GA-redhat-1.jar:1.0.4.GA-redhat-1]

at org.jboss.msc.service.ServiceControllerImpl$StartTask.run(ServiceControllerImpl.java:1746) [jboss-msc-1.0.4.GA-redhat-1.jar:1.0.4.GA-redhat-1]

at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor$Worker.runTask(Unknown Source) [rt.jar:1.6.0_16]

at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor$Worker.run(Unknown Source) [rt.jar:1.6.0_16]

at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source) [rt.jar:1.6.0_16]

Caused by: java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: JBAS011043: Circular dependency installing java:module/env/myappDatasource

at org.jboss.as.ee.component.deployers.ModuleJndiBindingProcessor.addJndiBinding(ModuleJndiBindingProcessor.java:241)

at org.jboss.as.ee.component.deployers.ModuleJndiBindingProcessor.deploy(ModuleJndiBindingProcessor.java:120)

at org.jboss.as.server.deployment.DeploymentUnitPhaseService.start(DeploymentUnitPhaseService.java:120) [jboss-as-server-7.2.0.Final-redhat-8.jar:7.2.0.Final-redhat-8]

... 5 more