From deploy --help
--unmanaged - if this argument is not specified, the deployment content
will be copied (i.e. uploaded) to the server's deployment
repository before it is deployed. If the argument is
present, the deployment content will remain at and be
deployed directly from its original location specified with
NOTE: exploded deployments are supported only as unmanaged.