3 Replies Latest reply on Feb 6, 2018 9:42 AM by patpai

Configuring second instance of Jboss

patpai

Good morning

I am new to JBoss, and i'm just trying to configure a second instance on a different port.

So far, i have 1 successful install running on port 8080:

I was able to figure out that i need the following command line done to start another instance (correct me if i'm wrong starting at this stage ) (i run this from the JBoss\bin folder)

standalone.bat -Djboss.socket.binding.port-offset=110

If i understand this correctly, this should start a second instance off of the first one (at port 8080) so i should eventually get this instance to work on port: 8990? is this correct so far?

After, how can i test this new instance to see if it installed properly or not?

Thank you very much for the help guys, i cant wait to get this going

Patrick

• 1. Re: Configuring second instance of Jboss
          abhijithumbe

If you are trying to start another server instance from same installation then you should create another copy of standalone directory and name it as 'standalone-2' then use below option along with port-offset option to start server from standalone-2 directory

standalone.sh[.bat]  -Djboss.server.base.dir=/path/to/standalone-2 -Djboss.socket.binding.port-offset=110

With this command send server will be running on 8190 port.

• 2. Re: Configuring second instance of Jboss
            sshashan

The one which is running is the default standalone server, if you want your second standalone server to have same functionality then you can simply copy the standalone.xml present under configuration directory to any other file say standalone-node2.xml , and change the port offset in the file or pass it in the command line and start the server using -c option .

OPTION1:

./standalone.sh -c standalone-node.xml  => when port offset is defined in the xml file.

OPTION2:

./standalone.sh -c  standalone-node.xml -Djboss.socket.binding.port-offset=110