1 Reply Latest reply on Feb 9, 2003 5:48 PM by kirksc1

CMR exception with collection

kirksc1

I am relatively new to CMP/CMR and have been creating a small application in order to reinforce what I have read. However, I am now receiving an exception that I don't believe I should be getting. The message suggests that multiple transactions are being created. However, ALL of my methods (in all EJBs) have a transaction setting of "Required". It is my understanding that "Required" will only create a new transaction if one has not been previously created. Therefore, I would think that any single EJB call would result in one and only one transaction. Can anyone give me an idea of where my thinking is wrong, or how I might accomplish the same goal?

Exception Message:
      java.lang.IllegalStateException: A CMR collection may only be used within the transaction in which it was created

Environment:
      jboss 3.0.4 with tomcat-4.1.x
      mysql 3.23.43

Application Description:
      At this point the application simply tracks a User and its email addresses (along with a type - Home, Work, etc.). I have created a User Entity EJB and EmailAddress Entity EJB (both with local interfaces), as well as a UserManager Stateless Session Bean to handle all interaction with the entity beans. Updates to User data are provided to the UserManager in the form of UserValue objects (Value Object). Each UserValue also maintains a collection of EmailAddressValue objects (Value Object).

The exception occurs when I try to update the User's data and an email address has been removed. Simply updating data works fine, and removing an email address removes the foreign key value. However, if a User removes an email address from their list I would like to completely remove the record from the database. Some source code snippets follow.

Code from the UserManager SLSB:
      -------------------------------
      public UserValue updateUser(UserValue user) ... {