0 Replies Latest reply on Sep 7, 2004 5:09 AM by paulsmith001

Transaction rollback error & transaction best practice

paulsmith001

Hello,

Let me start off with a bit of a disclaimer - I am pretty new to J2EE and JBoss!

I have some pseudo code below that shows what is happening in my application. I have two questions based on it:

(1) Why is my transaction not rolling back?
      (2) I think I know why I am getting a duplicate key exception (see end of this post), but I am not sure of the best way of resolving it. I think this must be a very common scenario and am therefore hoping that someone can guide me as to the best practice in this situation.

I am using:
      JBoss 3.0.6
      JDK 1.4.1_03
      MySQL 4.0.17-nt

MessageDrivenBean:
      onMessage()
      {
      try
      {
      UserTransaction transaction = m_context.getUserTransaction();
      transaction.begin();
      pojo = new SomeClass();
      pojo.handleMessage(-);
      transaction.commit();
      }
      catch (Exception e)
      {
      // e is a java.util.ConcurrentModificationException here
      m_context.getUserTransaction().rollback();
      // The rollback above fails with java.lang.IllegalStateException: No transaction
      }
      }

The pojo creates a new entity. The entity's ejbPostCreate() method calls a static method [setSomething()] on a utility class that creates or updates another entity:
      public static setSomething()
      {
      entity = get An Entity
      if (entity == null)
      create the entity
      else
      set an entity property
      }

I am getting the following exception when creating the entity:

[org.jboss.ejb.plugins.cmp.jdbc.JDBCCreateEntityCommand.MyEntityBean] (Thread Pool Worker-1:MyEntityBean) Create: pk=001
      [org.jboss.ejb.plugins.cmp.jdbc.JDBCCreateEntityCommand.MyEntityBean] (Thread Pool Worker-1:MyEntityBean) Executing SQL: SELECT COUNT(*) FROM MyTable WHERE id=?