7 Replies Latest reply on Jul 1, 2003 12:59 AM by jonlee

Maintaining session across wars?

nish_dce

Hi All,
      I am new to JBoss and I have the following problem. When I try to access one jsp which is in a "war" file,from another jsp in another "war" file,a new httpsession is started.
      Is it possible to continue with the same session and how?

Thanks in advance,
      Newbie.

• 1. Re: Maintaining session across wars?
          clevanger

Before you direct to the other war file, grab the sessionid and pass it throught the url.

• 2. Re: Maintaining session across wars?
            nish_dce

Thanks a lot for ur help!
            It worked that way,but I had some further problems!
            But I want to pass the whole Session Object across the wars!
            Any help would be appreciated!

Thanks a lot,
            Newbie.

• 3. Re: Maintaining session across wars?
              nish_dce

One more "important" thing!
              I think there should be some configuration parameter to enable the desired behavior of maintaining sessions across multiple wars.
              Because it may be possible that even if we pass the old "sessionID" to the other jsp in other war file, that "old" session might be garbage-collected by Servlet Container,as it has started a new session!
              So we should be able to specify in some xml file ,so that Servlet Container doesn't start a new session when the request comes from a jsp in another war file.

Any help is greatly appreciated!!

Thanks in advance,
              Newbie.

• 4. Re: Maintaining session across wars?
                jonlee

Have a look at the cookie specs. They define the domain and path to which the cookie applies.