3 Replies Latest reply on Dec 1, 2006 6:09 AM by marilenc

Autentication through Java client for JAAS failing

nazare

Hi,

I'm new to JBoss/JAAS. Working on a project to retrieve JMX information from JBoss in secure environment.

The client program written with code

props.put(Context.INITIAL_CONTEXT_FACTORY, "org.jboss.security.jndi.LoginInitialContextFactory");
      props.put(Context.PROVIDER_URL, "jnp://localhost:1099");
      props.put(Context.URL_PKG_PREFIXES, "org.jboss.naming:org.jnp.interfaces");
      props.put(Context.SECURITY_PRINCIPAL, name);
      props.put(Context.SECURITY_CREDENTIALS, password);

is failing with "java.lang.SecurityException: Unable to locate a login configuration" errors.

The JBoss command line utility twiddle.bat works fine with the authentication information retrieving the data from JBoss.

Can somebody help in this regard to get this working as making the client connect with security is very essential.

Thanks,
      Krishna

• 1. Re: Autentication through Java client for JAAS failing
          j2ee_junkie

Krishna,

You forgot to set the security protocol property. See http://wiki.jboss.org/wiki/Wiki.jsp?page=LoginInitialContextFactory for details

cgriffith

• 2. Re: Autentication through Java client for JAAS failing
            nazare

Hi Griffith,

Thanks for pointing to the SECURITY_PROTOCOL parameter.

I have a default installation of JBoss with authentication for jmx-console enabled. The username/password used is also default. (admin/admin)

The value i provided for this parameter is "org.jboss.security.auth.spi.UsersRolesLoginModule". Tell me whether this is ok.

Got my sample code working with creating a file auth.conf with following contents.

other {

// jBoss LoginModule
             org.jboss.security.ClientLoginModule required
             ;

// Put your login modules that need jBoss here
            };

And added addtional startup parameter for the JVM.