1 Reply Latest reply on Oct 21, 2002 8:52 AM by slaboure

CAN'T CLUSTER!   PLEASE HELP.

dug01

Hello JBoss People, I can really use your help.

I'm trying to get Distributed HTTP Sessions working, but so far have failed to get Clustering working at all.

I'm running jboss-3.0.3_tomcat-4.1.12 with the server -all option. I'm trying to cluster 2 machines for now (ultimately 4 machines).

I'm attempting the "If All Else Fails" option, with TCPPING unicast, to eliminate the network issues which I have limited knowledge/control over. (For what it's worth, port 7800 seems to working fine, so it isn't being blocked or anything).

Here's a snippet of cluster-service.xml, with the IP address edited out for public posting:

<mbean-ref-list name="SynchronizedMBeans">
      <mbean-ref-list-element>jboss:service=HASessionState</mbean-ref-list-element>
      <mbean-ref-list-element>jboss:service=HAJNDI</mbean-ref-list-element>
      </mbean-ref-list>

TCP(start_port=7800):TCPPING(initial_hosts=[IP ADDRESS OF OTHER MACHINE][7800];port_range=5;timeout=3000;num_initial_members=2;up_thread
      =true;down_thread=true):VERIFY_SUSPECT(timeout=1500;down_thread=false;up_thread=false):pbcast.STABLE(desired_avg_gossip=20000
      ;down_thread=false;up_thread=false):pbcast.NAKACK(down_thread=true;up_thread=true;gc_lag=100;retransmit_timeout=3000):pbcast.
      GMS(join_timeout=5000;join_retry_timeout=2000;shun=false;print_local_addr=false;down_thread=true;up_thread=true)

Here's some of the output I get when starting either machine (after the other one):

03:58:40,193 INFO [ClusterPartition] Starting
      03:58:40,194 INFO [ClusterPartition] Connecting to channel
      03:58:40,357 INFO [STDOUT] --- reaper started ---
      03:58:43,323 INFO [DefaultPartition] New cluster view: 0 ([server2:7800])
      03:58:43,380 INFO [ClusterPartition] Starting channel
      03:58:43,380 INFO [DefaultPartition] Number of cluster members: 1