8 Replies Latest reply on Jul 8, 2003 8:04 PM by vashistvishal

JBoss / J2EE thoughts and advice

neellixx

Hey Gang!

I've been doing some research on the net about JBoss and this whole J2EE thing. I've got to say, it's exciting to say the least!

I'm a Network Operations Manager for a network of approximately 500 users geographically spread-out, and have been building an intranet from PostNuke and other PHP functions.

After hearing of the problems jboss.org had with Postnuke and it's user-load, my concerns are exactly the same thing for my system. So, I'm doing much more research on it.

It seems that it would really be right up my alley, since it seems like I can leverage much more from this application server than what any CMS system (or any PHP application for that matter) can do.

Understand, that the most I ever did with Java is basically just build a fancy "Hello World" class. So, my learning curve would be pretty high. Just wanted to hear the thoughts from the REAL USERS of this system.

Why use it? We currently run most our business logic and processes from a JD Edwards platform (on an AS400). Would JBoss still be of use to me, other than Nukes for an intranet?

I read on this web site that it (JBOSS) is very compatible with WebSphere developments. Would it be safe to assume then, if I learn how to develop on WebSphere, I can develop on JBoss?

Mostly, I just want to make sure that I can get a good Return on Investment, while still making a good decision for my users.

Do I have any comments/advice?

• 1. Re: JBoss / J2EE thoughts and advice
          neellixx

Sorry, One other thing......

Where should I start, if I wanted to start developing on this system. It seems like I need to get proficient with EJB's first and it's foundation, since it seems this technology is what is used to deploy and integrate the programs. Would this be a correct assumption?

• 2. Re: JBoss / J2EE thoughts and advice
            jonlee