11 Replies Latest reply on Aug 25, 2005 9:55 AM by shaunbarker

Configuring JNDI ConnectionFactory

shaunbarker

Hi

I am a JBoss newbie and am struggling finding out where and how to configure a ConnectionFactory. I need to create one with a name and then be able to refer to it to create a session and so forth. I have a jndi.properties file that looks like this:
      java.naming.factory.initial=org.jnp.interfaces.NamingContextFactory
      java.naming.provider.url=localhost:1099
      java.naming.factory.url.pkgs=org.jboss.naming

and in the web.xml it says this:

<resource-ref>
      Default QueueFactory
      <res-ref-name>jms/QueueFactory</res-ref-name>
      <res-type>javax.jms.QueueConnectionFactory</res-type>
      <res-auth>Container</res-auth>
      </resource-ref>

but I get an error that says:

org.jboss.deployment.DeploymentException: Error during deploy; - nested throwable: (javax.naming.NamingException: resource-ref: jms/QueueFactory has no valid JNDI binding. Check the jboss-web/resource-ref.)

But I have no real idea what this means or how to create the correct JNDI binding?

Please help before I go mad (well more mad that is!)???

regards

Shaun

• 1. Re: Configuring JNDI ConnectionFactory
          anotherjavaguy

I'm new to jboss too so forgive if I ask stuff you already tried.

Have you created a xxxx-ds.xml file in your deploy directory that binds to this jndi name?

• 2. Re: Configuring JNDI ConnectionFactory
            shaunbarker

Yes I tried that too - although I called it -ds.xml (as I didn't know to give it a prefix) and this only caused errors since it said the name was not bound to JNDI - which only served to confuse me more?