2 Replies Latest reply on Oct 6, 2006 9:21 AM by gagote

Deploy Problem: JBoss, EJB3, NetBeans and the web.xml file s

wls

Admittedly, I'm a beginner here, so go gentle on me.

I'm using the NetBeans 5.5 beta 2 with the JBoss 4.0.4 GA installer, which supposedly includes EJB3 stuff, from http://www.netbeans.org/products/ide/ and so far things had been working perfectly.

That was until I did right clicked "Enterprise Resources > Call Enterprise Bean" from the pop up window in an servlet of an Enterprise Application and referenced a working bean.

Now my question isn't one of using the NetBeans environment, but rather that after it generated the code, which did compile perfectly, I started getting errors that my bean could not be deployed to JBoss due to an error in the web.xml file.

Looking in the web.xml file, which I assume is some kind of deployment file (hey, I said I was new to J2EE), there is a new element in the xml called <ejb-local-ref>. And it's on this xml section that JBoss seems to be choking.

Inside http://www.netbeans.org/kb/55/ejb30-jboss.html, it suggests that JBoss automatically adds session beans to the JNDI namesspace, and thus one should remove the ejb-local-ref from the web.xml file by going to the WEB-INF folder inside the Web Pages node.

Doing so didn't help, and instead created a new problem with the bean not being bound to a name.

From what I can tell from various Google searches and reading different documents, it seems that not only is NetBeans is generating Java EE 5 code, but deployment notation as well. And, while JBoss is using EJB3, it does not recognize the newer xml syntax.

My problem is fairly obvious, and I'm drowning in a sea of documentation that's in one world or the other, but not bridging the gap between them.

NetBeans is producing this:

javax.naming.Context c = new javax.naming.InitialContext();
      return (MyBeanLocal) c.lookup("java:comp/env/ejb/MyBean");

Which exceptions with a