3 Replies Latest reply on Nov 20, 2007 12:55 PM by demetrio812

Add visual effects to RF components

demetrio812

Hi,
      after writing I looked at the jira and I found the issue I would like to raise, so I write here just to give it more importance.

The issues is this one:
      http://jira.jboss.com/jira/browse/RF-283

It's about adding (I think with optional flag) visual effects to RichFaces components.

I like a lot RichFaces and as a developer I know the value that it has because it's not just a javascript/DHTML component framework. More, there are a lot of other things I can say (JSF integration, Seam support, CDK, etc.), but you know more than me.

But when we look at it from a final user perspective things changed so I can see ppl saying that extJs is cooler because they just see the animation effects (you know how the most of users see those things).

So I'm starting using rich:effect and rich:jQuery to add some unuseful stuff that can do the difference from a user point of view.

So I think it's very important to integrate those in RichFaces components to make RichFaces "cooler" for users and not for developers only.

Hope I explained well!

Thanks!

Demetrio Filocamo

• 1. Re: Add visual effects to RF components
          demetrio812

no one care about this?

Demetrio

• 2. Re: Add visual effects to RF components

Did you see http://labs.jboss.com/auth/wiki/RichFacesFuture?

The "Predefined effects for existing components" task is in the TODO list (see the second table). However, it has only 5 votes. So, we have a lot of tasks that are more important for most of us.

If you know the structure of the components (if you use FireFox's FireBug you should), it is possible to add effects for some components from outside. However, some of them require built-in effects as a part of the component behavior.

• 3. Re: Add visual effects to RF components
              demetrio812